The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

U.K. Indie Pop Act The Primitives to Reissue Debut Album for 25th Anniversary

leave a comment »

Primitives lovelyIf you don’t slow down, you’re gonna crash into the news that Cherry Red is expanding The Primitives’ debut LP for its 25th anniversary.

Formed in the British city of Coventry, the indie pop group earned a following through several singles on their own Lazy Records imprint before signing to RCA for Lovely, their first studio LP. The band (at the time consisting of Paul Court on guitar, Steve Dullaghan on bass, Tig Williams on drums and vocalist Tracy Cattell – known as “Tracy Tracy”) combined the guitar-based sensibilities of other indie acts like The Jesus & Mary Chain and Primal Scream, while adding a distinct audiovisual flair thanks to Cattell’s distinctive vocals and bottle-blonde hairstyle. (Alongside U.K. acts Transvision Vamp and The Darling Buds, they were briefly credited with kickstarting the niche indie subgenre of “blonde pop.”)

Lazy became a hit thanks to the catchy lead single “Crash,” a Top 10 hit in the band’s native country and a No. 3 Modern Rock hit in America. (Years later, it was remixed and featured prominently on the soundtrack for the Jim Carrey-Jeff Daniels comedy Dumb & Dumber.) Much of the rest of the album features re-recorded versions of songs the band had previously released as singles.

Cherry Red’s new edition of Lovely, to be released in the U.K. on June 10, features a bonus disc full of single-only material. The band, which split in 1992 but reunited in 2009 after the death of Dullaghan, will tour Europe starting with dates in Spain next month. In September, the band will perform several U.K. dates specifically for the 25th anniversary of Lovely, featuring guest DJ sets by Mike Joyce, former drummer of The Smiths.

This release also calls to attention a new compilation of the band’s early indie material which was released by Cherry Red earlier this spring. You can read more about that title after the jump!

PRIMITIVES LazyDespite the name of the label, The Primitives’ early works weren’t Lazy. They were as catchy as their major-label efforts, with a touch more lo-fi production sensibility. “Really Stupid,” “Stop Killing Me” and “Thru the Flowers” were all Top 10 singles on the U.K.’s Indie charts. Everything’s Shining Bright, as the two-disc compilation is called, features all the band’s single sides for the label as well as unreleased demos, seven unreleased tracks for a planned Lazy Records LP (scrapped when the band went major) and a live show from 1987 (in which they were introduced to the stage by famous fan Morrissey), all compiled by guitarist Court.

Full track details and order links from Amazon are now live and featured below.

Lovely: 25th Anniversary Edition (Cherry Red (U.K.), 2013)

Amazon U.K.

Disc 1: Original LP (released as RCA PL 71688 (U.K.), 1988)

  1. Crash
  2. Spacehead
  3. Carry Me Home
  4. Shadow
  5. Thru the Flowers
  6. Dreamwalk Baby
  7. I’ll Stick with You
  8. Nothing Left
  9. Stop Killing Me
  10. Out of Reach
  11. Ocean Blue
  12. Run Baby Run
  13. Don’t Want Anything to Change
  14. Buzz Buzz Buzz

Disc 2: Bonus material

  1. Way Behind Me
  2. Crash (Demo)
  3. All the Way Down
  4. I’ll Stick with You (Single Version)
  5. Things Get in Your Way
  6. Out of Reach (Single Version)
  7. Way Behind Me (Acoustic)
  8. All the Way Down (Beat Version)
  9. Crash (Again and Again)
  10. Dreamwalk Baby (Live @ Glasgow College of Art – March 1988)
  11. Really Stupid (Live @ Glasgow College of Art – March 1988)

Disc 2, Tracks 1, 3, 7 and 8 released as RCA 12″ single PT 42210, 1988
Disc 2, Tracks 2, 4 and 5 from RCA 12″ single PT 41762, 1988
Disc 2, Tracks 6 and 11 released as RCA single PB 42011, 1988
Disc 2, Track 9 released as RCA EP PB 41761 E, 1988
Disc 2, Track 10 released on RCA limited edition single PB 42011LE, 1988

Everything’s Shining Bright: The Lazy Recordings 1985-1987 (Cherry Red CDBRED560 (U.K.), 2013)

Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S.

Disc 1

  1. Thru the Flowers
  2. Across My Shoulder
  3. She Don’t Need You
  4. Lazy
  5. Really Stupid
  6. We Found a Way to the Sun
  7. Where the Wind Blows
  8. Stop Killing Me
  9. Buzz Buzz Buzz
  10. Laughing Up My Sleeve
  11. Ocean Blue
  12. Shadow
  13. Thru the Flowers (Second Version)
  14. Everything Shining Bright
  15. Nothing Left (Demo)
  16. Really Stupid (Demo)
  17. Across My Shoulder (Demo)
  18. Crash (Demo)
  19. Spacehead (Demo)
  20. Nothing Left (Sounds Version)

Disc 2

  1. I’ll Stick with You
  2. Dreamwalk Baby
  3. Buzz Buzz Buzz
  4. Nothing Left
  5. Out of Reach
  6. Carry Me Home
  7. Don’t Want Anything to Change
  8. I’ll Stick with You
  9. Dreamwalk Baby
  10. Run Baby Run
  11. Thru the Flowers
  12. Nothing Left
  13. Where the Wind Blows
  14. Out of Reach
  15. We Found a Way to the Sun
  16. Don’t Want Anything to Change
  17. Across My Shoulder
  18. Everything’s Shining Bright
  19. Buzz Buzz Buzz
  20. Stop Killing Me
  21. I Wanna Be Your Dog

Disc 1, Tracks 1-4 released as Lazy 12″ single LAZY01, 1986
Disc 1, Tracks 5-7 released as Lazy 12″ single LAZY02T, 1986
Disc 1, Tracks 8-10 released as Lazy 12″ single LAZY03T, 1987
Disc 1, Tracks 11-12 released as Lazy single LAZY05, 1987
Disc 1, Tracks 13-14 released as Lazy single LAZY06, 1987
Disc 1, Tracks 15-16 released on Thru the Flowers: An Anthology (Castle Music CMEDD 1007, 2004)
Disc 1, Tracks 17-19 and Disc 2, Tracks 1-7 previously unreleased
Disc 1, Track 18 released on RCA RCA 12″ single PT 41762, 1988
Disc 1, Track 20 released on Sonic Sounds #2 EP, 1987
Dissc 2, Tracks 8-22 recorded live at the ICA, London – 8/15/1987. Released on promo LP (exact cat. # unknown), 1987 or 1988. First commercially released on Buzz Buzz Buzz: The Complete Lazy Recordings (Castle Music CMQDD 1361, 2006)

Written by Mike Duquette

April 29, 2013 at 17:52

Posted in Compilations, News, Reissues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: