The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Archive for June 5th, 2013

Throw Off Your Mental Chains: Howard Jones Releases Music Video Anthology

with 2 comments

Howard Jones DVDNew Wave hitmaker Howard Jones did a fantastic job remastering his catalogue through his own Dtox label with the help of Rhino U.K., releasing three great waves of remastered albums from his years on WEA/Elektra over the past three years. Now, he’s got one more package up his sleeve: a new anthology of music videos.

The Video Collection will nicely collate not only all of Jones’ videos from his MTV years (with all the audio newly remastered), but four recent videos, taken mostly from the albums People (1998) and Ordinary Heroes (2009). (“Building Our Own Future,” the last video on the standard program, was a non-album song from 2006.) Three bonus videos will be included as well: the “London version” of U.K. Top 5 hit “Like to Get to Know You Well,” an alternate version of “Everlasting Love” (one version swapped out vintage romantic film clips for the humorous side narrative of two mummies on a date) and a version of “Tears to Tell” tinted in blue.

Jones is on tour in America this summer as part of the “ReGeneration” ’80s-themed package alongside Andy Bell of Erasure, A Flock of Seagulls and others. At the end of the year, he will perform two special U.K. shows in honor of the 30th anniversary of his debut single “New Song,” featuring hits and a new multimedia composition as part of the set.

Order your copy from the Dtox web store (the disc is not only hand-numbered but region-free, meaning anyone can enjoy it on any DVD player!) and check out the track list below.

The Video Collection (Dtox, 2013)

  1. New Song
  2. What is Love
  3. Hide & Seek
  4. Pearl in the Shell
  5. Like to Get to Know You Well
  6. Things Can Only Get Better
  7. Look Mama
  8. Life in One Day
  9. No One is to Blame
  10. All I Want
  11. You Know I Love You…Don’t You?
  12. Everlasting Love
  13. The Prisoner
  14. Lift Me Up
  15. Tears to Tell
  16. I.G.Y.
  17. Tomorrow is Now
  18. Let The People Have Their Say
  19. Soon You’ll Go
  20. Building Our Own Future
  21. Like to Get to Know You Well (London Version) (bonus video)
  22. Everlasting Love (Alternative Version) (bonus video)
  23. Tears to Tell (Blue Tint Version) (bonus video)

Tracks 1-4 from Human’s Lib (WEA/Elektra, 1983)
Tracks 5 and 21 from The 12″ Album (WEA/Elektra, 1984)
Track 6-8 from Dream Into Action (WEA/Elektra, 1985)
Track 9 from Action Replay (Elektra, 1986)
Tracks 10-11 from One to One (WEA/Elektra, 1986)
Tracks 12-13 and 22 from Cross That Line (WEA/Elektra, 1989)
Tracks 14-15 and 23 from In the Running (WEA/Elektra, 1992)
Track 16 from The Best of Howard Jones (WEA/Elektra, 1993)
Tracks 17-18 from People (Dtox, 1998)
Track 19 from Ordinary Heroes (Dtox, 2009)
Track 20 from non-LP single (Dtox, 2006)

Written by Mike Duquette

June 5, 2013 at 14:57

The Aeroplane Flies Even Higher: Smashing Pumpkins Singles Box Gets Generous Expansion

with 7 comments

The Aeroplane Flies HighDetails for the next title in the ongoing Smashing Pumpkins reissue series, a new edition of the box set The Aeroplane Flies Highhave been announced.

Originally released in 1996 after the success of the diamond-certified double-album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness (itself the latest notch in the Pumpkins’ reissue campaign, with a six-disc box set edition released last year), Aeroplane collated and expanded all of the CD singles released to promote that album, featuring “Bullet with Butterfly Wings,” “1979,” “Zero,” “Tonight, Tonight” and “Thirty-Three” with their many respective B-sides. Initially intended as a limited edition set, the box’s high chart placement (No. 42 on the Billboard charts) in fact generated more copies.

This deluxe edition, unsurprisingly, follows suit with the rest of the band’s extensive catalogue project, piling bonuses heavy atop the original program. What was a five-disc, 33-track set is now seven (six CDs and one DVD) with some 57 bonus tracks, including demos, outtakes, rough mixes and live cuts. The additional discs in the set are a CD, “Live from the Dark Globe,” recorded at various dates on the band’s 1996 tour, an a newly-released DVD of a live show in France from 1997.

The package, newly remastered by Bob Ludwig, features a 48 page book featuring liner notes by David Wild and track-by-track notes on the box’s original track list by Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan. The redesigned set features an embossed foil wrap for the box itself and mini-jackets for each disc printed on twinkle stock. Additionally, the original box will be available as a five-LP set, with both versions made available for digital download, as well.

Aeroplane indeed flies high on July 23. Hit the jump for the full track list and pre-order links for the expanded box!

Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Mike Duquette

June 5, 2013 at 11:18

Ramblin’ Men: Allman Brothers Band’s “Brothers and Sisters” Goes Super Deluxe In June

with 2 comments

Allman Brothers - Brothers and Sisters StandardThough it was The Allman Brothers Band’s fifth album, 1973’s Brothers and Sisters actually marked a rebirth.  The tight-knit unit had weathered the tragic deaths of leader Duane Allman and Berry Oakley in 1971 and 1972, respectively.  The 1972 double album Eat a Peach would be the last to feature Duane’s inimitable slide guitar, as he died during its recording.  And Oakley perished as sessions for Brothers and Sisters were occurring.  Yet the band soldiered on, and even flourished.  The completed Brothers and Sisters became a No. 1 album on the Billboard 200 (remaining in the top spot for five weeks) and spawned a No. 2 Pop single, “Ramblin’ Man.”  Now, forty years on, the album is being celebrated by Universal’s Mercury label with a new anniversary reissue.  On June 25, a remastered edition of the platinum seller will arrive in four formats: vinyl, CD, 2-CD Deluxe Edition, and 4-CD Super Deluxe Edition.

The original album, clocking in at less than forty minutes, tightened the band’s expansive musical style into something leaner, meaner and even more accessible.  But that didn’t mean that the group toned down its expressive, distinct, blues-based musicianship.  Gregg Allman (vocals/organ/rhythm guitar), Dickey Betts (vocals/lead and slide guitars/dobro), Jai Johnny Johanson – or “Jaimoe” (drums/congas) and Butch Trucks (drums/percussion/tympani/congas) were joined by new recruits Chuck Leavell (piano/keyboards/vocals) and Lamar Williams (bass).  Berry’s Oakley’s original contributions, of course, remained on the album, including bass on Betts’ hit single “Ramblin’ Man.”  Betts came into his own as a songwriter on Brothers and Sisters, writing the entirety of the second side.   The upbeat instrumental “Jessica,” the radio-friendly “Southbound” (sung by Gregg) and the country-flecked “Pony Boy” added up to a virtual suite.  The original Capricorn Records release, produced by Johnny Sandlin with the band, featured a gatefold photograph of the Allman Brothers’ extended family, underscoring the ties that still bound the band despite its losses.  (Vaylor Trucks, son of Butch, appeared on the bucolic front cover, and Brittany Oakley, daughter of Berry, appeared on the rear artwork.)

What will you find on Mercury’s 40th anniversary editions?  Hit the jump to find out.  Plus: a full track listing and pre-order link! Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Joe Marchese

June 5, 2013 at 10:11