The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Bohemian Like Them: Dandy Warhols Expand Third Album with Unreleased Bonus Disc

with one comment

Thirteen Tales from Urban BohemiaIf you’ve yet to make your trip to the record store this week to pick up some new reissues, here’s another new re-release coming your way to think over: Portland, Oregon-based rockers The Dandy Warhols have expanded their third album, Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia, for its 13th anniversary.

The band’s third album (and second for Capitol Records) was inarguably their commercial breakthrough. Thirteen Tales was buoyed by the success of the track “Bohemian Like You,” which was prominently featured in a British phone commercial. More importantly, though, it was one of the first great salvos in a burst of sonically pleasing, ambitious alternate rock albums released in the early 2000s. (Thirteen Tales arrived in stores a full year before The Strokes’ Is This It, largely and perhaps wrongly considered to be the first real example of this phenomenon. This A.V. Club essay does a great job of reflecting on this.)

This remastered two-disc set features an unreleased bonus disc of outtakes, demos and other archival goodness. It’s in stores today and can be ordered after the jump.

Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia: 13th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Capitol/UMe B0018423-02, 2013) (Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.)

Disc 1: Original LP (released as Capitol CDP 7243 8 57787 2 8, 2000)

  1.  Godless
  2. Mohammed
  3. Nietzsche
  4. Country Leaver
  5. Solid
  6. Horse Pills
  7. Get Off
  8. Sleep
  9. Cool Scene
  10. Bohemian Like You
  11. Shakin’
  12. Big Indian
  13. The Gospel

Disc 2: Bonus material (previously unreleased)

  1. Later the Show
  2. Ras Tafar and I
  3. Godless (Alt Vox Melody)
  4. Cool Scene (Early Mix)
  5. Country Leaver (Early Mix)
  6. Bohemian Like You (Courtney Taylor-Taylor Home Demo)
  7. Mohammed (Courtney Taylor-Taylor Home Demo)
  8. Big Indian (Courtney Taylor-Taylor Four-Track Cassette Version)
  9. Big Indian (Courtney Taylor-Taylor Home Demo)
  10. Unknown
  11. Godless (Courtney Taylor-Taylor Home Demo)
  12. Cool Scene (Courtney Taylor-Taylor Home Demo)
  13. Dub Song (Courtney Taylor-Taylor Home Demo)

Written by Mike Duquette

June 11, 2013 at 13:54

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I heard an interview with the band on WERS Boston the other day regarding the 13th anniversary of the album and this new deluxe release. They commented about improving the bass during the remastering. What struck me most about the interview were the ‘stoned’ comments from the band, a modern ‘Spinal Tap’ moment, I wondered whether other listeners thought the same. By the way, I’m a fan of the original album and will re-listen to see if the bass needed improving.

    Trevor Bartram

    June 15, 2013 at 07:37

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: