The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Ho Hey! Folk Upstarts The Lumineers to Expand and Reissue Debut LP

with 2 comments

LumineersOne of the most inescapable songs of last year was immediately identified by two words: “Ho Hey.” The best-selling single by Denver-based folk band The Lumineers gradually earned a steady stream of airplay after some choice ad placement and a performance on Saturday Night Live, ultimately sending the tune to No. 3 on Billboard‘s Hot 100. Next month, The Lumineers’ self-titled debut is being reissued and expanded as a CD/DVD set, with five extra tracks, music videos and featurettes from the band’s life on the road.

The genesis of The Lumineers came to life in the mid-’00s, when vocalist/guitarist Wesley Schultz and drummer Jeremiah Fraites started collaborating. Moving from Ramsey, NJ, to Brooklyn to Denver, they’d meet cellist/vocalist Nelya Pekarek in 2010. (Pianist Stelth Ulvang and bassist Ben Wahamaki would join during the recording sessions for their first album.) Their simple, evocative tunes (“Ho Hey,” “Stubborn Love”) and a strong live presence helped keep their audiences after earning national exposure through TV ads. Ultimately, the group was nominated for Best New Artist and Best Americana Album at the 55th Grammy Awards.

Five new tracks are featured on the expanded version of The Lumineers, including a live rendition of album cut “Slow It Down” and a cover of the Talking Heads’ “This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody).” The DVD features videos of “Ho Hey” and “Stubborn Love” and a pair of mini-documentaries about life since the album’s release and on the road (a teaser of which is embedded above). It’s out August 20; pre-order your copy after the jump!

The Lumineers: Deluxe Edition (Dualtone 80302-016432-1, 2013)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

Disc 1: Expanded album (originally released as Dualtone 80302-016082-8, 2012)

  1. Flowers in Your Hair
  2. Ho Hey
  3. Submarines
  4. Classy Girls
  5. Dead Sea
  6. Stubborn Love
  7. Charlie Boy
  8. Big Parade
  9. Slow It Down
  10. Flapper Girl
  11. Morning Song
  12. Ain’t Nobody’s Problem *
  13. This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody) *
  14. Elouise *
  15. Darlene *
  16. Slow It Down (Live) *

* bonus track

Disc 2: DVD

  1. Life Since April 3, 2012 (featurette)
  2. Ho Hey (promo video)
  3. Stubborn Love (promo video)
  4. From the Road (featurette)

Written by Mike Duquette

July 25, 2013 at 13:02

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Second Disc,

    Hi. It’s Peter Shillito from Raven Records here. I have a question for you…

    How and where do we send our new (reissue) releases to you for review? What is your mailing address and to whom do we address the packages?

    You have a great site, btw!

    Best regards, Peter Shillito,


    Peter Shillito

    July 25, 2013 at 21:28

    • Hi Peter, thanks for the kind words and thanks for reaching out!

      We will be sure to contact you via email.

      Joe Marchese

      July 26, 2013 at 07:49

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: