The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Archive for August 7th, 2013

Are You Ready: Now Sounds Expands “The Association,” Real Gone Uncovers “Hexagram 16”

with 2 comments

The Association“Where have I gone, where have I gone?” pondered Terry Kirkman on the haunting opening track to The Association’s 1969 long-player.  Though the group’s fifth album, it was simply titled The Association, signifying an artistic rebirth.  Gone were the session players and ornate Bones Howe production that marked their previous album, 1968’s Birthday.  Taking the production reins themselves in tandem with John Boylan, The Association – Kirkman, Russ Giguere, Brian Cole, Jim Yester, Larry Ramos, Ted Bluechel., Jr. and the just-returned Jules Alexander – created one of their most beguilingly eclectic collections.  The Association, also known as “The Stonehenge album” for its spacey cover, didn’t contain any hit singles.  But it showed off the group’s trademark harmonies in gleaming form as each man’s songwriting continued to grow in maturity.  Now Sounds has just delivered The Association in a deluxe stereo expanded edition with 10 bonus tracks, many in mono.

The Association addressed the heady, rapidly-changing times with the very first song as Kirkman pondered over an ethereal chorale, “Oh, it’s a hard way down to the time I raised my hand and swore I’d gladly die for my God and Uncle Sam/There was so much I didn’t know, and what I know, I didn’t understand/Look at me, look at me/Where have I gone, where I have gone?”  But soon, Kirkman turned his questioning outward, too, with “Look at Me, Look at You.”  The voices were familiar but the accompaniment, flecked with Doug Dillard’s banjo, acknowledged country-rock.  Jim Yester leaned in that direction, too, with “What Were the Words.”  This look back from relationship’s end was originally written for The Dillards, and incorporates twangy instrumentation alongside those lush voices.  Jules Alexander wrote his own country-rock song with the reflective “Dubuque Blues.”  This was, doubtless, an earthier Association, although folk influences had been a major component of the band since their earliest days.  On The Association, the multi-layered vocals hadn’t lost the sheer and exhilarating beauty of “Everything That Touches You” or “Cherish,” but frequently hinted at a darker place.

Even the love songs took on a more subtle air.  Alexander’s “Love Affair,” yearningly sung by Yester, paints a picture of “kids to the world of the old” with “dreams that we’re living [which] they will never know…you in your Levis and I in my hair…”  The imagery is spare yet potent, and very much of a window into the time though its author opines in reissue producer Steve Stanley’s comprehensive new liner notes that it “was about a woman I was going with at the time…nothing more than that, really.”  Bluechel co-wrote the ambitious “The Nest,” juxtaposing downbeat solo verses (“Without love, home’s an empty house/And you might be the one who’s left within it”) with a more optimistic group-sung chorus in which the famed sunshine pop purveyors were at least hinting at a ray of sunshine.

The most commercial track on The Association was producer Boylan’s “Yes I Will.” Warner Bros. correctly selected the track for single release, but it couldn’t rise above a disappointing No. 120 on the pop chart.  Still, it’s one of the band’s stronger rock-inflected songs, packing a simple yet powerful punch, even if it feels somewhat out of place on this more subtly reflective set.  “Goodbye Forever,” written by Kirkman, Alexander and Rita Martinson, was originally submitted as a title song to the 1969 film Goodbye Columbus, but was rejected in favor of Jim Yester’s stab at a title song for the movie.  It was retitled for The Association’s recording, and boasts a catchy melody if rather silly lyrics playing on the film’s then-risqué, hip and contemporary themes:    “Not just another pretty bottom/But a genuine blue boobie/Not just another pretty bottom/But a genuine cheap groovy…”

Larry Ramos and Tony Ortega’s frenetic soul rocker, “Are You Ready,” has a tough guitar riff and some horns arranged by Bones Howe’s frequent collaborator Bob Alcivar.  Brian Cole and Jules Alexander’s “I Am Up for Europe” (“…or any other place where I don’t speak the language or recognize a face”) emphasizes heavy guitars to a restless and searching lyric espousing a “gentle revolution.”  Russ Giguere’s only songwriting contribution is the jokey “Broccoli,” about, well, broccoli.  Kirkman closed out the album on a suitably poetic note, though, with “Boy on the Mountain,” co-written with arranger Richard Thompson (not of Fairport Convention fame).

After the jump: what bonus material will you find on The Association?  Plus: a look at Russ Giguere’s solo album Hexagram 16! Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Joe Marchese

August 7, 2013 at 12:18

From “Love Lost” to “Found Love”: New Digital Compilation Showcases Arthur Lee’s Rarities

with one comment

Found LoveHere’s one for the “in case you missed it” file: Arthur Lee and Love’s early ’70s recordings for Columbia Records were recently released in full as a digital album.

Found Love: The Lost ’71 Sessions finds Lee and the then-current Love lineup – bassist Frank Fayad, guitarist Craig Tarwater and drummer Don Poncher – considerably removed from the expansive psychedelia of Da Capo and Forever Changes, embracing a much darker, bluesier, Hendrix-ian sound. The album, provisionally titled Dear You, was never released, though much of its material would linger around Lee’s repertoire for some time. (Versions of some of these tracks ended up on Vindicator, Lee’s 1972 solo album, and the 1973 rarity Black Beauty, released on LP by High Moon Records; an expanded CD release has been long in development by the same label.)

The frustratingly short, occasionally brilliant discography of Lee and Love, coupled with a great deal of late-period critical acclaim for his work before his passing in 2006, makes this material certainly worthy of the ears of any Love fan, old or new. Previously only available on LP (or truncated CD) by Sundazed Records, Found Love makes this little-known period of Lee’s career available to all as a digital title (and, at $5, is not a bad impulse buy).

The full track list is below, and iTunes and Amazon links are here and here.

Found Love: The Lost ’71 Sessions (Columbia/Legacy, 2013)

  1. I Can’t Find It
  2. Product of the Times
  3. Everybody’s Gotta Live
  4. Midnight Sun
  5. He Knows a Lot of Good Women
  6. C.F.I.
  7. Find Somebody
  8. Good & Evil II
  9. Looking Glass
  10. Trippin’ & Slippin’/Ezy Rider
  11. He Knows a Lot of Good Women (Alternate)
  12. Find Somebody (Alternate)
  13. Midnight Sun (Alternate)
  14. Product of the Times (Alternate)

This compilation previously released as Love Lost – Sundazed LP 5281, 2009. Tracks 1-10 released as CD version of same title – Sundazed SC 11207.

Written by Mike Duquette

August 7, 2013 at 11:29