The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Cherry Red Watch: Naked Eyes and “Born to Be Alive” Spotlighted on New Reissues

with 4 comments

Born to Be AliveThe Cherry Pop label is certainly the only place you’ll find expanded CDs by a French-Italian disco sensation and one of the more notable synthpop duos of the ’80s. The debut album by Patrick Hernandez and the final album by Naked Eyes have recently been bought to CD by Cherry Pop with an armful of bonus tracks.

You might not recall Patrick Hernandez’s name, but you’ve doubtlessly heard his biggest disco hit: “Born to Be Alive.” Its urgent tempo, stirring arrangement and strong vocal performance made it one of the genre’s biggest anthems, a Billboard dance chart-topper that crossed over into the pop Top 20. (The single topped the charts in 11 other countries.) Hernandez’s success was short-lived in America, but the Born to Be Alive album was certified gold – and countless licensing opportunities and the odd spin on radio or in clubs ensures the song will still live on. Cherry Pop expands the original LP, released in the States on Columbia Records, with three bonus tracks, including a European A-side, “Back to Boogie,” and the hit single and dance mix versions of “Born to Be Alive,” as commissioned for U.S. play.

Fuel for the FireCherry Pop also has on the roster the premiere CD release of Fuel for the FIre, the final album by British pop duo Naked Eyes. Fresh off the stateside success of debut album Burning Bridges, which had a synth-tastic Top 10 cover of Burt Bacharach and Hal David’s “Always Something There to Remind Me,” Fuel featured production from Bridges producer Tony Mansfield as well as dance whiz Arthur Baker, who helmed lead single “(What) in the Name of Love.” But the track merely dented the U.S. Top 40 and went nowhere in Europe. Naked Eyes split shortly thereafter, with Pete Byrne getting into session work and Rob Fisher recording as a duo with British songwriter Simon Climie (the aptly-named Climie Fisher) in the ’80s and ’90s. Fisher passed away in 1998.

For the first-ever release of Fuel for the Fire, Cherry Pop has appended several bonus tracks, including two B-sides (including an early version of “(What) in the Name of Love” released on the flipside of U.S. Top 20 single “Promises Promises”), remixes of “(What) in the Name of Love” and second single “Sacrifice” (remixed by Baker but unreleased until a 2002 compilation) and – as a real treat for Naked Eyes devotees – three unreleased demos from the album sessions.

Born to Be Alive is available in U.K. shops today, while Fuel for the Fire streets August 26. (Thanks to super reader Zevonsky for the tip!) After the jump, you’ll find the usual track lists and Amazon U.K. links.

Patrick Hernandez, Born to Be Alive: Expanded Edition (originally released as Columbia LP JC 36100, 1979 – reissued as Cherry Pop CD CRPOP125 (U.K.), 2013)

  1. Born to Be Alive
  2. Disco Queen
  3. You Turn Me On
  4. Show Me the Way You Kiss
  5. Back to Boogie
  6. It Comes So Easy
  7. I Give You a Rendez-vous
  8. Born to Be Alive (12″ Disco Mix) (U.S. 12″ A-side – Columbia 23-10987, 1979)
  9. Back to Boogie (Single Version) (European single A-side – Aavalanche JC 110005, 1979)
  10. Born to Be Alive (Single Version) (U.S. single A-side – Columbia 3-10986, 1979)

Naked Eyes, Fuel for the Fire: Expanded Edition (originally released as Parlophone/EMI 1 C 064 2401891 (U.K.)/EMI America ST-17116 (U.S.), 1984 – reissued as Cherry Pop CD CRPOP129 (U.K.), 2013)

  1. (What) In the Name of Love
  2. New Hearts
  3. Sacrifice
  4. Eyes of a Child
  5. Once is Enough
  6. No Flowers Please
  7. Answering Service
  8. Me I See in You
  9. Flying Solo
  10. Flag of Convenience
  11. (What) In the Name of Love (Extended Version) (12″ A-side – Parlophone 12R-6078 (U.K.)/EMI America V-7832 (U.S.), 1984)
  12. Sacrifice (Arthur Baker 12″ Version) (from Everything and More – One Way/EMI 72435 39815 2 5 (U.S.), 2002)
  13. (What) In the Name of Love (Byrne & Fisher Mix) (B-side to “Promises Promises” – EMI 5421 (U.K.), 1983)
  14. Two Heads Together (B-side to “(What) In the Name of Love” – Parlophone R-6078 (U.K.)/EMI America B-8219 (U.S.), 1984)
  15. Fuel for the Fire (Demo)
  16. Babes in Armour (Demo)
  17. Sacrifice (Demo)

Tracks 15-17 previously unreleased

Written by Mike Duquette

August 12, 2013 at 13:35

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Mike,

    Thanks for your excellent reviews and what a great site. As you might know, Raven Records is a reissue specialist of over 35 years standing. We are currently planning our schedule for the end of the year with some great reissue titles coming up on Delbert McClinton, Paul Revere and the Raiders, David Alan Coe and Tom Scott and the L.A. Express.

    Question: How can we get our reissues reviewed on The Second Disc? Where should we send them to? Do you have a mailing address?

    Best regards,

    Peter, Kevin and Ian at… RAVEN RECORDS.

    Peter Shillito

    August 12, 2013 at 21:18

    • Hey guys! Send us an email at theseconddisc (at) gmail (dot) com! Thanks!!

      Mike Duquette

      August 13, 2013 at 10:18

  2. You might to want to post on The Second Disc’s Facebook page, guys. You’ll probably get a response here eventually, but FB might be a good option as well. Keep up the great work. Love your reissues. Got a bunch of ’em!

    Chief Brody

    August 13, 2013 at 05:08

  3. Nice to see the 2nd Naked Eyes getting a proper CD– I may have the entire album spread over the 2 EMI comps (not sure, will have to check their track lists) but it will be great to have everything together as it should be. Shame there were no other remixes that had not already been released on their ‘Everything And More’ collection.


    August 13, 2013 at 17:44

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: