The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Come Out and Play: Soundtrack Spotlight on Latest from La-La Land and Kritzerland

leave a comment »

KL_MiracleWorker_Cov72Kritzerland has served up quite the “miracle” with their latest release, and two of La-La Land’s latest feature favorite composers and cult titles – all here in our semi-regular soundtrack round-up!

The acclaimed adaptation of the Broadway play The Miracle Worker – featuring original playwright William Gibson and director Arthur Penn and returning cast members Anne Bancroft and Patty Duke – told the amazing true story of Anne Sullivan, caretaker to the deaf and blind Helen Keller, whose teachings enabled Keller to not only communicate but become an outspoken voice for workers’ rights, women’s suffrage and more. Bancroft and Duke each won Oscars for Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress (at the time, the 16-year-old Duke was the youngest winner of the Best Supporting Actress Oscar), while Penn and Gibson received nominations.

Laurence Rosenthal’s evocative score eluded accolades at the time of the film’s release, but it has since deservedly received accolades from film score enthusiasts – especially after Intrada released the score for the first time in 2010. That version is now out of print, but Kritzerland has ably stepped in to bring the score back into circulation. What’s better, they’ve corrected some minor audio issues (removing some reverb and audio dropouts from the previous release) and appended it with two bonus tracks from the film.

Limited to 1,000 copies, The Miracle Worker is expected to ship at the end of September, although pre-orders tend to ship a few weeks early.

After the jump, check out two of the latest releases from La-La Land!

Patriot GamesReleased last month, La-La Land expanded James Horner’s score to Patriot Games, a 1992 adaptation of the Tom Clancy novel. Harrison Ford stars as ex-CIA operative Jack Ryan (taking over the role from Alec Baldwin, who’d starred in 1990’s The Hunt for Red October), who’s persuaded to return to duty after a vengeful group of Irish rebels attacks his family. Inspired by the likes of Aram Khachaturian and Dimitri Shostakovich, Horner constructed a taut, thrilling score, now presented in full with a handful of source cues, album versions and even the track “Harry’s Game” by Clannad, heard at one point in the film. (Ford, co-star James Earl Jones – who’d been in Red October – director Phillip Noyce and Horner would all return two years later for another Jack Ryan story, Clear and Present Danger; Intrada recently expanded that score on CD.

“Waaaaaaariors….come out and plaaaaaaaay!” That iconic line can only mean the expansion of Barry DeVorzon’s score to the cult film The Warriors. Based on the novel of the same name, Walter Hill’s film is a balletic action picture featuring rival gangs after hours in New York City. The LLL expanded edition features on one disc both the original A&M Records soundtrack album, featuring contributions from Joe Walsh and Desmond Child, and 11 tracks of unreleased and unused film score from DeVorzon.

All three titles are ready to order below!

Laurence Rosenthal, The Miracle Worker: An Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack (Kritzerland, 2013)

  1. Main Title
  2. Train Montage
  3. Hands
  4. Doll and Ladder
  5. She Folded Her Napkin
  6. The Search/To the Garden House
  7. Nightmare
  8. Lullaby
  9. Teaching Montage
  10. Let Her Come
  11. Come to Supper
  12. The Miracle/The Keys
  13. End Title
  14. Percy (bonus track)
  15. The Keys (Film Version) (bonus track)

James Horner, Patriot Games: Music from the Motion Picture – Expanded Edition (originally released as RCA 07863 66051-2, 1992 – expanded La-La Land LLLCD 1259, 2013)

Disc 1

  1. Main Title
  2. Attempt on the Royals
  3. CNN News Report */Sean’s Interrogation *
  4. Kevin Walks Away */Deadly Lover */ Sean’s Trial *
  5. Sean Obsessing in Jail */Highland’s Execution
  6. Strange Cargo *
  7. The Hit
  8. Hospital Vigil */Jack Returns to CIA */Studying Sean’s File *
  9. Arrest of the Bombers
  10. Putting the Pieces Together/Reading to Sally */Sean’s Midnight Call *
  11. Girl in Photo */Cooley Escapes *
  12. Two-Edged Surveillance *
  13. Electronic Battlefield (Film Version) *

Disc 2

  1. Assault on Ryan’s House
  2. Boat Chase /Aftermath *
  3. Closing Credits (Film Version) *
  4. Harry’s Game – Clannad
  5. Hospital Vigil (Alternate) *
  6. Electronic Battlefield (Orchestral/LP Version)
  7. Washington Post March (Source) *
  8. Whelan’s Jig (Source) *
  9. The Hunt (Source) *
  10. Piano Trio in E-Flat, Op. 14 (K. 498) (Source) *
  11. Piano Sonata in B-Flat, Op. 17, No. 1 (K. 333) (Source) *
  12. Closing Credits (LP Version)


Various Artists, The Warriors: Music from the Motion Picture – Expanded Edition (La-La Land Records LLLCD 1261, 2013)

  1. Theme from The Warriors -Barry DeVorzon
  2. Nowhere to Run -Arnold McCuller
  3. In Havana – Kenny Vance & Ismael Miranda
  4. Echoes in My Mind – Mandrill
  5. The Fight -Barry DeVorzon
  6. In the City – Joe Walsh
  7. Love Is a Fire – Genya Ravan
  8. Baseball Furies Chase – Barry DeVorzon
  9. You’re Moving Too Slow – Johnny Vastano
  10. Last of an Ancient Breed – Desmond Child
  11. Wonder Wheel (Main Title)
  12. Graveyard (unused)
  13. Night Run
  14. The Orphans/Turnbull A.C.’s Pt. 1/Riff Boss/Turnbull A.C.’s Pt. 2/Molotov Cocktail (unused)
  15. March to Station
  16. Luther Shoots Cyrus/Train Walking (unused)
  17. Baseball Furies Chase/The Fight
  18. Into the Tunnel (unused)
  19. Skater/Men’s Room/The Fight (alternate)
  20. Riffs Learns Truth/Platform (film version)/Warriors & Rogues (film version)
  21. Platform (alternate)/Warriors & Rogues (alternate)

Tracks 1-10 released as A&M LP SP-4761, 1979. Tracks 11-21 previously unreleased score cues by Barry DeVorzon

Written by Mike Duquette

August 13, 2013 at 11:48

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: