The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Somewhere Only They Know: Keane Announce Greatest Hits Compilation in Various Formats

leave a comment »

KeaneBritish pop-rockers Keane are set to commemorate a decade of releases with a new greatest hits compilation in November.

While most knowledge of the Sussex band begins and ends with 2004’s radio-ready, piano-led ballad “Somewhere Only We Know” (a modest No. 50 on the Billboard Hot 100), Keane have become quite a driving force in U.K. pop/rock. All four of their studio albums (and one extended EP) have topped the British charts, and they’ve amassed 10 Top 40 hits, including Top 10s “Everybody’s Changing,” “Somewhere Only We Know” and “Bedshaped,” all from 2004 debut Hopes and Fears, and the rollicking “Is It Any Wonder?” from 2006’s Under the Iron Sea. (In 2008, both albums were named on Q‘s list of the best British albums; Keane were the only band to have two albums in the Top 20 – The Beatles, Radiohead and Oasis all settled for one apiece in the same space.)

The Best of Keane will be available in several formats: a single-disc overview featuring 20 tracks, including selections from Hopes and FearsUnder the Iron SeaPerfect Symmetry (2008), the EP Night Train (2010) and Strangeland (2012) as well as two new songs; a double-disc set collecting an extra disc of B-sides (many unavailable outside of U.K. CD singles) and a super deluxe version, to feature both CDs, a DVD of an acoustic concert (slated for recording later this month) and a 7″ x 7″, 100-page hardback book.

All formats will street worldwide on November 11. Click here for a new interview frontman Tom Chaplin gave to Rolling Stone about the compilation, and keep an eye out here for when Amazon links go live. In the meantime, the track list for both discs is after the jump.

The Best of Keane (Island, 2013)

Disc 1

  1. Everybody’s Changing
  2. Somewhere Only We Know
  3. Bend and Break
  4. Bedshaped
  5. This is the Last Time
  6. Atlantic
  7. Is It Any Wonder?
  8. Nothing in My Way
  9. Hamburg Song
  10. Crystal Ball
  11. A Bad Dream
  12. Try Again
  13. Spiralling
  14. Perfect Symmetry
  15. My Shadow
  16. Silenced by the Night
  17. Disconnected
  18. Sovereign Light Café
  19. Higher Than the Sun
  20. Won’t Be Broken

Disc 2: B-sides (deluxe and super deluxe only)

  1. Snowed Under
  2. Walnut Tree
  3. Fly to Me
  4. To the End of the Earth
  5. The Way You Want It
  6. Something in Me Was Dying
  7. Allemande
  8. Let It Slide
  9. He Used to Be a Lovely Boy
  10. Thin Air
  11. The Iron Sea (Magic Shop Version)
  12. Maybe I Can Change
  13. Time to Go
  14. Staring At the Ceiling
  15. Myth
  16. Difficult Child
  17. Sea Fog (Live in Mexico City – 8/30/2012)
  18. Russian Farmer’s Song

Disc 1, Tracks 1-5 from Hopes and Fears (Island 9866495 (U.K.)/Interscope B0002507-02 (U.S.), 2004)
Disc 1, Tracks 6-12 from Under the Iron Sea (Island 9878227 (U.K.)/Interscope B0006856-02 (U.S.), 2006)
Disc 1, Tracks 13-14 from Perfect Symmetry (Island 1785645 (U.K.)/Interscope B0012205-02 (U.S.), 2008)
Disc 1, Track 15 from Night Train (Island 2730877 (U.K.)/Cherrytree/Interscope B0014202-02 (U.S.), 2010)
Disc 1, Tracks 16-18 from Strangeland (Island 2794839 (U.K.)/Cherrytree/Interscope B0016740-02 (U.S.), 2012)
Disc 1, Tracks 19-20 and Disc 2, Track 18 are unreleased new tracks
Disc 2, Tracks 1-2 from “Somewhere Only We Know” CD single – Island CID 849 (U.K.), 2004
Disc 2, Tracks 3-5 from “Everybody’s Changing” CD single – Island CID 855 (U.K.), 2004
Disc 2, Track 6 from “Bedshaped” CD single – Island CID 870 (U.K.), 2004
Disc 2, Track 7 from “This is the Last Time” CD single – Fierce Panda/White Light NING 147CD (U.K.), 2003
Disc 2, Tracks 8-9 from “Is It Any Wonder? ” CD single – Island CID 934 (U.K.), 2006
Disc 2, Track 10 from “Nothing in My Way” CD single – Island 1717631 (U.K.), 2006
Disc 2, Tracks 11-12 from “Crystal Ball” CD single – Island 1705786 (U.K.), 2006
Disc 2, Track 13 from “The Lovers Are Losing” CD single – Island 1788166 (U.K.), 2008
Disc 2, Track 14 from “Perfect Symmetry” CD single – Island 1793853 (U.K.), 2008
Disc 2, Track 15 from “Silenced” digital single – Island (no cat. #) (U.K.), 2012
Disc 2, Track 16 from “Sovereign Light Café” digital single – Island (no cat. #) (U.K.), 2012
Disc 2, Track 17 from “Disconnected” digital single – Island (no cat. #) (U.K.), 2012

Written by Mike Duquette

August 19, 2013 at 10:23

Posted in Compilations, Keane, News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: