The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Somebody Told Me The Killers Were Releasing a Compilation

with 2 comments

Direct HitsOne of the more notable mainstream rock bands of the 2000s, The Killers, is releasing their first greatest hits compilation.

Direct Hits collects 13 of the Las Vegas band’s best loved songs and adds two new tracks: “Shot At the Night,” produced by French electronic duo M83, and “Just Another Girl,” produced by longtime collaborator Stuart Price (who’s remixed many of their singles under the pseudonym Jacques Lu Cont/The Thin White Duke). A deluxe version adds three more tracks: “Be Still,” from their most recent album Battle Born (2012); the original demo for 2004 hit “Mr. Brightside” and a remix of 2006’s “When You Were Young” by Scottish producer Calvin Harris. Finally, a U.K. super deluxe version will add a DVD documentary and all of the single tracks on five 10″ records.

When The Killers burst onto the scene with Hot Fuss in 2004, critics were quick to hail their revivalist New Wave/post-punk sound and hooky dance-rock tracks like “Somebody Told Me,” “Mr. Brightside” and “All These Things That I’ve Done.” Follow-up Sam’s Town, which took influence from Bruce Springsteen and U2, remains one of the genre’s most polarizing follow-ups (no thanks to frontman Brandon Flowers telling the press it was “one of the best albums in the past 20 years” and “the album that keeps rock & roll afloat”), but the band’s commercial fortunes as an album and touring act have rarely struggled since, particularly in England, where all four of their studio albums have shot to the top of the charts.

Direct Hits will be out on November 11. Pre-order links are not yet available, but the track list (courtesy of NME) is below.

Direct Hits (Island, 2013)

  1. Mr Brightside
  2. Somebody Told Me
  3. Smile Like You Mean It
  4. All These Things That I’ve Done
  5. When You Were Young
  6. Read My Mind
  7. For Reasons Unknown
  8. Human
  9. Spaceman
  10. A Dustland Fairytale
  11. Runaways
  12. Miss Atomic Bomb
  13. The Way It Was
  14. Shot At the Night *
  15. Just Another Girl *
  16. Mr Brightside (Original Demo) **
  17. When You Were Young (Calvin Harris Remix) **
  18. Be Still **

Tracks 1-4 from Hot Fuss (Island, 2004)
Tracks 5-7 from Sam’s Town (Island, 2006)
Tracks 8-10 from Day & Age (Island, 2008)
Tracks 11-13 and 18 from Battle Born (Island, 2012)
* new track
** new/deluxe edition track

Written by Mike Duquette

September 17, 2013 at 11:50

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A compilation already? Wow. The super deluxe edition looks nice but way too expensive.


    September 17, 2013 at 12:15

  2. What’s up with all these “Expanded Edition” or “Best Buy Exclusive” or “Target Exclusive” CD releases especially when they just contain two or three unreleased songs? They cost like anyway from three to six or more dollars.


    November 16, 2013 at 16:41

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: