The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

East Meets West on Kritzerland’s Reissue of “Rising Sun”

leave a comment »

KL_RisingSun_Cov.600x600Kritzerland’s latest soundtrack reissue marks the full release of the underrated score to 1992’s Rising Sun by legendary Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu – his first and only assignment for an American film.

Part murder mystery, part diplomatic treatise, Rising Sun was the first novel released by bestselling author Michael Crichton after the blockbuster release of Jurassic Park in 1990. The film version, starring Sean Connery and Wesley Snipes as two cops investigating the brutal death of an escort at the American offices of a Japanese corporation, was released just over a month after Steven Spielberg’s adaptation of the dinosaur technothriller; Rising Sun was in fact co-adapted and directed by Philip Kaufman, who received a story credit alongside George Lucas on Spielberg’s Raiders of the Lost Ark.

While the film was only a moderate success at the box office, score fans were quick to note the quality of the soundtrack by Takemitsu, a native Japanese composer who scored several pivotal Japanese films, including Dodesukaden (1970) and Ran (1985) for Akira Kurosawa. It would be his only American film score and final score overall; Takemitsu died in 1996, leaving behind a body of work acclaimed by his countrymen and beyond.

Kritzerland’s reissue of Rising Sun greatly expands on the original Fox Records CD presentation, presenting about an hour’s worth of music, down to the last source cues. Kritzerland hails the work as “an addictive, mesmerizing neo-noir tone poem of exquisite orchestral color and sounds…with a great main theme that weaves itself in and out of the score like wisps of smoke.”

Score fans can find out for themselves with this new disc, limited to 1,000 copies and available to order now at Kritzerland’s official site. Hit the jump for the full track list!

Toro Takemitsu, Rising Sun: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Kritzerland KR20026-5, 2013 – original film released 1993)

  1. Taiko Drum Opening – Seiichi Tanaka and The San Francisco Taiko Dojo *
  2. Board Meeting
  3. Drive to Connor’s Loft *
  4. Girl on Table
  5. Web Meets Connor *
  6. Crime Scene
  7. Body Examined
  8. Arrival At Apartment
  9. Checking Out the Apartment
  10. Driving
  11. Eddie Revealed on Disc *
  12. Looking At the Disc
  13. Chase *
  14. Golf Course
  15. So Eddie Witnessed the Murder *
  16. Yakuza Pursuit *
  17. Car in Alley
  18. Security Room
  19. Web’s Confession *
  20. Eddie’s Alive
  21. The Hall
  22. Eddie’s Showdown *
  23. Mystery Figure Revealed *
  24. Senator Morton Gets Faxed *
  25. Interrogation
  26. Nakamoto Steps
  27. Cemented
  28. Always Leave the Cage Door Open
  29. Credits
  30. Don’t Fence Me In (Source – Cole Porter) *
  31. Single Petal of a Rose (Source – Duke Ellington) *
  32. Medley (Credits – Short Version) *
  33. Tsunami – Seiichi Tanaka and The San Francisco Taiko Dojo *

* released on Fox Records CD 07822 11033-2, 1993

Written by Mike Duquette

September 23, 2013 at 17:30

Posted in News, Reissues, Soundtracks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: