The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Everything is (More Than) Everything: Unreleased Donny Hathaway Works Compiled on New Box Set (UPDATED 9/26)

with 3 comments

Hathaway Never My LoveUPDATE (9/26/2013): After initially posting this was to be released in France, we were pleased to receive confirmation that this box, in fact, will be released stateside as well! We have amended the release date and pre-order links accordingly.

AMENDED POST (9/23/2013): Several years after a great career-spanning box set from France, Rhino is releasing another new box by the late soul legend Donny Hathaway, with two discs of unreleased studio and live content.

Never My Love: The Anthology takes its name from the classic Donald and Richard Addrisi composition, taken to No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1967. As we discovered this year thanks to a 45RPM single released for Record Store Day, Hathaway cut his own soulful version, one of 13 tracks on a disc of unreleased studio material. Though much of the material on this disc never made it past the demo/work-in-progress stage, it makes for an intriguing look at the scope of Hathaway’s ambition – particularly the disc’s closing “ZYXYGY Concerto,” a 20-minute, multi-movement piece recorded in the fall of 1973 after a summer touring with the Newport Jazz Festival.

Hathaway’s live prowess takes hold of Disc 3, compiled from nine sets at New York’s historic Bitter End between October 27 and 29, 1971. Donny tackles both his signature hits (“Voices Inside (Everything is Everything),” “Little Ghetto Boy”) and killer covers (Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On,” Carole King’s “You’ve Got a Friend,” John Lennon’s “Jealous Guy”) with equal aplomb.  (Of course, four songs from those sets made up the second side of Hathaway’s Live album in 1972, but the songs replicated here – “Everything is Everything” and “Jealous Guy” – are alternate to what’s on the original album.)

And what will you find on the other two discs? Hit the jump to find out.

Disc 1, billed as “The Life and Music of Donny Hathaway,” serves as a greatest-hits package of sorts over 22 tracks. The famous tunes – “Tryin’ Times,” “To Be Young, Gifted and Black,” “I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know,’ “This Christmas” – are joined by a few choice rarities on CD. “The Ghetto” appears not as the near-seven-minute album version, but the original two-part single edits. The disc also opens up with two of Hathaway’s duets with singer June Conquest, recorded for Curtis Mayfield’s Curtom label in 1969 – a year before his debut LP on ATCO.

The package is rounded out with all 13 duets Hathaway recorded with Roberta Flack for Atlantic Records. 1971’s Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway is appended with three further tracks from Flack’s discography, the No. 2 hit “The Closer I Get to You,” and the two tracks from Flack’s Roberta Flack Featuring Donny Hathaway (1980): the Stevie Wonder co-write “You are My Heaven” and “Back Together Again.” (Those two were Hathaway’s final recordings before his tragic, mysterious death in 1979, at the far too young age of 33.)

Rounded out by a new essay from British journalist Charles Waring and a new interview with Flack herself, Never My Love looks to be a quality find for any Donny Hathaway fan, new or old. It’s out November 12 and the full track list (along with an Amazon U.S. listing) is below.

Never My Love: The Anthology (Atlantic/Rhino, 2013)

Disc 1: The Life and Music of Donny Hathaway

  1. I Thank You Baby – June & Donnie
  2. Just Another Reason – June & Donnie
  3. The Ghetto – Part 1
  4. The Ghetto – Part 2
  5. Thank You Master (for My Soul) (Promo Edit)
  6. Voices Inside (Everything is Everything)
  7. Tryin’ Times
  8. To Be Young, Gifted and Black
  9. I Believe to My Soul
  10. This Christmas
  11. A Song for You
  12. Magnificent Sanctuary Band
  13. Giving Up
  14. Come Back Charleston Blue – Donny Hathaway with Margie Joseph
  15. Little Ghetto Boy
  16. Valdez in the Country
  17. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
  18. Lord Help Me
  19. Come Little Children
  20. Love, Love, Love
  21. Someday We’ll All Be Free
  22. You Were Meant for Me

Disc 1, Track 1 from Curtom single CR 1935, 1969
Disc 1, Track 2 from Curtom single CR 1971, 1972
Disc 1, Tracks 3-9 from Everything is Everything (ATCO SD 33-332, 1970)

  • Disc 1, Tracks 3-4 released as ATCO single 45-6719, 1970
  • Disc 1, Track 5 released on ATCO single 45-6759, 1970

Disc 1, Track 10 from ATCO single 45-6799, 1970
Disc 1, Tracks 11-13 from Donny Hathaway (ATCO SD 33-360, 1971)
Disc 1, Tracks 14-15 from Come Back Charleston Blue: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (ATCO SD-7010, 1972)
Disc 1, Tracks 16-17 and 19-21 from Extension of a Man (ATCO SD-7029, 1973)
Disc 1, Track 18 from ATCO single 45-6903, 1972
Disc 1, Track 22 from The Best of Donny Hathaway (ATCO SD 38-107, 1978)

Disc 2: Studio Recordings *

  1. Never My Love
  2. A Lot of Soul
  3. Let’s Groove
  4. Latin Time
  5. Tally Rand
  6. Memory of Our Love
  7. Sunshine and Showers
  8. After the Dance is Done
  9. Don’t Turn Away
  10. Always the Same
  11. Brown Eyed Lady (Instrumental)
  12. The Sands of Time
  13. ZYXYGY Concerto

Disc 2, Tracks 1 and 6 released as ATCO/Rhino single 8122 79667-3, 2013

Disc 3: Live at The Bitter End 1971 *

  1. What’s Going On
  2. Sack Full of Dreams
  3. Little Ghetto Boy
  4. You’ve Got a Friend
  5. Voices Inside (Everything is Everything)
  6. He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother
  7. Jealous Guy
  8. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
  9. Hey Girl
  10. The Ghetto

Disc 4: Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway Duets

  1. I (Who Have Nothing)
  2. You’ve Got a Friend
  3. Baby I Love You
  4. Be Real Black for Me
  5. You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling
  6. For All We Know
  7. Where is the Love
  8. When Love Has Grown
  9. Come Ye Disconsolate
  10. Mood
  11. The Closer I Get to You
  12. You Are My Heaven
  13. Back Together Again

Disc 1, Tracks 1-10 released as Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway (Atlantic SD-7216, 1972)
Disc 1, Track 11 from Blue Lights in the Basement (Atlantic SD-19149, 1977)
Disc 1, Tracks 12-13 from Roberta Flack Featuring Donny Hathaway (Atlantic SD-16013, 1980)

Written by Mike Duquette

September 26, 2013 at 11:23

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s also getting a UK/Europe release.

    Pete Marshall

    September 27, 2013 at 11:50

  2. Really excited to see this, its sprung right to the top of my Xmas list of things to get myself! Which set to go for though? I know that this set includes a whole 2 CDs of unreleased stuff, but does the French set trump it in other ways?


    November 13, 2013 at 09:08

    • The French set has 7 different unreleased tracks and all the officially released solo studio and live albums. I haven’t received my copy of the new set yet, so I’m not exactly sure of the number of single or alternate mixes on the first cd, but there only seems to be (roughly) 3/4 of one cd of overlap between the two boxes. At the end of the day, the two sets seem to complement each other very well.


      November 13, 2013 at 18:56

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: