The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

The Discs (Are Out Tonight): Bowie’s Newest LP Expanded to Three-Disc Set

with 3 comments

Bowie The Next Day ExtraOf all the comeback stories in 2013, perhaps none may have been more intriguing than the master of comebacks, David Bowie. The legendary rocker kicked off his 66th year with a surprise announcement: his first album of new material in a decade. Recorded in secret over a two-year period with producer Tony Visconti, The Next Day was met with critical acclaim – our own Joe Marchese called it “an angry, electric exploration of where he is now, where he was then, and where he will likely be…not a reinvention, but rather a resurgence.”

Joe in fact noted some 30 tracks were reportedly recorded for the album – and, in another surprise, a triple-disc reissue of the album will bring some of those tracks to light, along with other bonus material. The Next Day Extra features a bonus CD featuring four previously-released cuts (three from a deluxe CD package released alongside the album and another Japanese-only bonus track), two new remixes of album cuts “Love is Lost” (remixed by James Murphy of LCD Soundsytem) and “I’d Rather Be High,” and four new songs: “Atomica,” “The Informer,” “Like a Rocket Man” and “Born in a UFO.”

The set is rounded out with a region-free DVD collating all of the visually arresting videos made for the album’s singles, “Where Are We Now?,” “The Stars (Are Out Tonight),” the title track and “Valentine’s Day.” It all comes in a cleanly-designed Barnbrook package featuring two booklets – one with lyrics and one featuring stills from the videos. (For those who just want the bonus tracks without buying the set again, a digital EP will be released presenting that second disc, minus the tracks from the deluxe edition.)

The Next Day Extra materializes into stores on November 4. Pre-order links are not live, but the full rundown of the set is after the jump.

The Next Day Extra (ISO/Columbia 88883 78781-2, 2013)

Disc 1: Original album (released as ISO/Columbia 88765 46186-2, 2013)

  1. The Next Day
  2. Dirty Boys
  3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
  4. Love is Lost
  5. Where Are We Now?
  6. Valentine’s Day
  7. If You Can See Me
  8. I’d Rather Be High
  9. Boss of Me
  10. Dancing Out in Space
  11. How Does the Grass Grow?
  12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
  13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
  14. Heat

Disc 2: Bonus material (previously unreleased except where noted)

  1. Atomica
  2. Love is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for The DFA)
  3. Plan *
  4. The Informer
  5. Like a Rocket Man
  6. Born in a UFO
  7. I’d Rather Be High (Venetian Mix)
  8. I’ll Take You There *
  9. God Bless the Girl **
  10. So She *

* from deluxe edition – ISO/Columbia 88765 41692-2, 2013
** from Japanese edition – ISO/Columbia SICP-3788, 2013

Disc 3: DVD

  1. Where Are We Now?
  2. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
  3. The Next Day
  4. Valentine’s Day

Written by Mike Duquette

September 30, 2013 at 11:30

Posted in David Bowie, News, Reissues

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For those of us who already bought the album — and I actually bought the Deluxe edition — will there be an option to buy only the bonus discs?


    September 30, 2013 at 17:09

    • The article reports that an EP will be released of the second disc, minus the deluxe edition tracks. My guess is that this will be digital (i.e., iTunes) but at least Bowie understands we don’t need to buy the same songs over and over again.

      Brian from Canada

      September 30, 2013 at 17:53

  2. Amazon has it priced at $27.12 when you search for it, but for $19 when you click on it. Purchased!


    September 30, 2013 at 20:56

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: