The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Caught in a Mosh, Again: Anthrax’s “Island Years” Features Classic LPs, Bonus Tracks Aplenty

with one comment

Anthrax Island Years boxInfluential thrash-metal band Anthrax were celebrated in the U.K. this week with The Island Years, a new budget box set combining four of their most notable albums, plus a bevy of bonus material.

The New York City-based quintet, dubbed one of metal’s “Big Four” alongside Metallica, Megadeth and Slayer, earned early accolades in the mid-1980s, signing to Island Records and garnering fans for their intense musical style and accessible, non-serious image. The band’s colorful MTV-style personalities (particularly rhythm guitarist and founding member Scott Ian, known to younger folks as a frequent talking head on VH-1 during the late ’90s and early ’00s) and pop cultural-influenced lyrics (a signature song, “I Am the Law,” was based on the catchphrase of comic book character Judge Dredd) only added to their appeal, as did their willingness to tackle unique musical horizons (a cover of Joe Jackson’s “Got the Time” was an early single, and the band’s embrace of hip-hop led to a name-check in Public Enemy’s iconic “Bring the Noise” – and, ultimately, a stunning duet version with the rap group in 1991).

While the band’s line-up has shifted back and forth over the years, Anthrax continues to record and tour, with much of the Island-era lineup (Ian, vocalist Joey Belladonna, bassist Frank Bello and drummer Charlie Benante) still in the band, joined by guitarist Jonathan Donais earlier this year.

The Island Years collects the band’s four albums for the label: 1985’s Spreading the Disease, 1986’s Among the Living (featuring signature songs “Indians” and “Caught in a Mosh”), 1988’s State of Euphoria and 1991’s Persistence of Time. While none have been remastered for this set, the latter three all feature bonus tracks (Among the Living received a CD/DVD deluxe edition from UMe’s U.K. arm in 2009; all of those bonus tracks reappear here). Many of these B-sides and bonus cuts didn’t even see the light of day on the band’s 1991 compilation Attack of the Killer B’s, so this is a huge boon for fans of the group.

The box is available now (at a rather nice U.K. price) and can be ordered here. Hit the jump to check out the full track list!

The Island Years (Island/UMC (U.K.), 2013)

Disc 1: Spreading the Disease (released as Island/Megaforce 90480, 1985)

  1. A.I.R.
  2. Lone Justice
  3. Madhouse
  4. S.S.C./Stand or Fall
  5. The Enemy
  6. Aftershock
  7. Armed and Dangerous
  8. Medusa
  9. Gung-Ho

Disc 2: Among the Living (released as Island/Megaforce 90584, 1986) and bonus tracks

  1. Among the Living
  2. Caught in a Mosh
  3. I Am the Law
  4. Efilnikufesin (N.F.L.)
  5. A Skeleton in the Closet
  6. Indians
  7. One World
  8. A.D.I./Horror of It All
  9. Imitation of Life
  10. Indians (Alternate Lead) (from Among the Living: Deluxe Edition  – Island B0013348-00, 2009)
  11. One World (Alternate Take) (from Among the Living: Deluxe Edition  – Island B0013348-00, 2009)
  12. Imitation of Life (Alternate Take) (from Among the Living: Deluxe Edition  – Island B0013348-00, 2009)
  13. Bud E. Luvbomb and Satan’s Lounge Band (B-side to “I Am the Law” – Island IS 916 (U.K.), 1987)
  14. I Am the Law (Live @ The Arcadia Theater, Dallas – 7/11/1987) (from I’m the Man EP – Island/Megaforce 90685, 1987)
  15. I’m the Man (Instrumental) (from I’m the Man EP – Island/Megaforce 90685, 1987)

Disc 3: State of Euphoria (released as Island/Megaforce 91004, 1988) and bonus tracks

  1. Be All, End All
  2. Out of Sight, Out of Mind
  3. Make Me Laugh
  4. Antisocial
  5. Who Cares Wins
  6. Now It’s Dark
  7. Schism
  8. Misery Loves Company
  9. 13
  10. Finale
  11. Friggin’ in the Riggin’ (12″ B-side to “Make Me Laugh” – Island 12 ISX 379 (U.K.), 1988)
  12. Antisocial (Live @ Hammersmith Odeon, London – 1988) (12″ B-side to “Make Me Laugh” – Island 12 ISX 379 (U.K.), 1988)
  13. Antisocial (Version Française) (12″ A-side – Island 611796 (FR), 1989)
  14. Parasite (12″ B-side to “Antisocial” – Island 12 IS 409 (U.K.), 1989)
  15. Le Sects (12″ B-side to “Antisocial” – Island 12 IS 409 (U.K.), 1989)
  16. Pipeline (from Penikufesin EP – Island 209 950 (EU), 1989)

Disc 4: Persistence of Time (released as Island/Megaforce 422 846 480, 1990) and bonus tracks

  1. Time
  2. Blood
  3. Keep It in the Family
  4. In My World
  5. Gridlock
  6. Intro to Reality
  7. Belly of the Beast
  8. Got the Time
  9. H8 Red
  10. One Man Stands
  11. Discharge
  12. Protest and Survive (Japanese bonus track – Polystar PSCD-1032, 1990)
  13. Who Put This Together (12″ B-side to “Got the Time” – Island 12 IS 476, 1990)
  14. I’m the Man (The Illest Version Ever – Live in Japan, 1990) (12″ B-side to “Got the Time” – Island 12 IS 476, 1990)

Written by Mike Duquette

October 16, 2013 at 09:58

Posted in Anthrax, Box Sets, News, Reissues

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you know if the CDs are in individual jewelboxes?


    October 16, 2013 at 17:40

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: