The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Dido Says “Thank You” with First Compilation

with one comment

Dido Greatest HitsAt the arguable height of controversy over Eminem in 2001, the Detroit rapper released, from his sophomore album The Marshall Mathers LP, one of the greatest and most haunting singles in the genre’s history. “Stan,” told from the perspective of an increasingly unhinged fan of Mathers, whose erratic (and ultimately fatal) rants are counterpointed by a minor-key refrain – the first verse of “Thank You” by British singer Dido Armstrong. Her debut album, No Angel, had been available in the U.S. for over a year, but the success of “Stan,” released almost simultaneously as No Angel in the U.K., helped propel Dido to international success, giving her one of the country’s biggest-selling albums of all time.

A dozen years later, RCA will celebrate Dido’s discography with a new U.K. compilationGreatest Hits celebrates all four of her albums – No Angel, 2003’s Life for Rent, 2008’s Safe Trip Home and this year’s Girl Who Got Away – featuring singles like “White Flag,” “Here with Me,” “Don’t Believe in Love,” “Let Us Move On” and “End of Night” as well as production from a who’s who of contemporary pop greats, including Rick Nowels, Jon Brion, Youth and Jeff Bhasker.


Four prominent non-album singles will be included on Greatest Hits – “Stan,” “Everything to Lose” (from the soundtrack to Sex and the City 2), “One Step Too Far” (a collaboration with electronica band Faithless, of which Dido’s brother/frequent producer Rowland “Rollo” Armstrong was a member) and “If I Rise” (another soundtrack song from the Oscar-nominated film 127 Hours, featuring contributions from the film’s composer, A.R. Rahman). One new single, “NYC,” rounds out the set. For serious collectors, a two-disc deluxe edition will include 13 bonus remixes, several of which are rare or unreleased.

British shops get Dido’s Greatest Hits on November 25. A U.S. release date has not been indicated. Full specs are after the jump.

Dido, Greatest Hits (RCA 88883 77713-2, 2013)

Amazon U.K.: Standard / Deluxe

Disc 1: standard edition

  1. Here with Me
  2. Thank You
  3. Hunter
  4. White Flag
  5. Life for Rent
  6. Don’t Leave Home
  7. Sand in My Shoes
  8. Don’t Believe in Love
  9. Quiet Times
  10. Grafton Street
  11. Everything to Lose
  12. Let Us Move On (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
  13. No Freedom
  14. End of Night
  15. One Step Too Far (Radio Edit) – Faithless feat. Dido
  16. Stan – Eminem feat. Dido
  17. If I Rise (feat. A.R. Rahman)
  18. NYC

Tracks 1-3 from No Angel (Cheeky/Arista, 1999)
Tracks 4-7 from Life for Rent (Cheeky/Arista, 2003)
Tracks 8-10 from Safe Trip Home (Cheeky/RCA, 2008)
Track 11 from Sex and the City 2: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (WaterTower Music, 2010)
Tracks 12-14 from Girl Who Got Away (RCA, 2013)
Original version of Track 15 from Outrospective (Cheeky/BMG, 2002)
Track 16 from The Marshall Mathers LP (Shady/Aftermath/Interscope, 2000)
Track 17 from 127 Hours: Music from the Motion Picture (Interscope, 2010)
Track 18 is a new track

Disc 2: Deluxe edition bonus disc (RCA 88883 78522-2, 2013)

  1. Here with Me (Chillin’ with the Family Mix) (CD single B-side – Cheeky/Arista 74321 83369-2, 1999)
  2. Thank You (Deep Dish Radio Edit) (original version from CD single B-side – Cheeky/Arista 74321 85890-2, 2001)
  3. Hunter (MJ Cole Remix) (CD single B-side – Cheeky/Arista 74321 88545-2, 2001)
  4. White Flag (Timbaland Remix) *
  5. Life for Rent (Skinny 4 Rent Remix) (CD single B-side – Cheeky/Arista 82876 57947-2, 2003)
  6. Sand in My Shoes (Above & Beyond Radio Edit) (original version from 12″ promo – Cheeky/Arista J12-65812-1 (U.S.), 2003)
  7. Don’t Leave Home (Gabriel & Dresden Radio Mix) (from Bloom – Nettwerk 0 6700 30367 2 6, 2004)
  8. Don’t Believe in Love (Dennis Ferrer’s Objektivity Radio Mix) (original version from RCA promo CD single (no cat. #), 2008)
  9. No Freedom (DJ Cobra Mix) *
  10. End of Night (Cedric Gervais Mix) (from RCA promo CD single 88765 40521-2, 2013)
  11. Go Dreaming (Mantronix Mix) *
  12. Blackbird (Moguai Remix) *
  13. Northern Skies (Rollo & Sister Bliss Remix) (from Safe Trip Home: Deluxe Edition – Cheeky/RCA 88697 40321-2, 2008)

Written by Mike Duquette

November 11, 2013 at 16:41

Posted in Compilations, Dido, News

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like the cover of the US Lewisohn Beatles book.


    November 11, 2013 at 22:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: