The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Black Oak Arkansas Rarities Sail Under the Radar

with 3 comments

Black Oak ArkansasSurprise! While we were focusing on the biggest of box sets over at The Second Disc, Atlantic quietly released a disc of unreleased vintage material from Southern rockers Black Oak Arkansas.

One of the top touring acts of the early 1970s, Black Oak Arkansas – with its triple-guitar lineup and idiosyncratic vocal style of Jim “Dandy” Mangrum – earned a great deal of acclaim in studio and on the road. Earlier this year, Mangrum reunited with original members Rickie Lee “Risky” Reynolds (rhythm guitar), Jimmy Henderson (guitar) and Pat “Dirty” Daugherty (bass) and returning latter-day members Johnnie Bolin (drums since 1985), George Hughen (bass since 1985) and guitarists Hal McCormack (since 2003) and Buddy Church (since 1989) to record five new tracks for Atlantic (their first major label home), including lead single “Plugged In and Wired” and a cover of Bob Dylan’s “I Shall Be Released.”


But Back Thar N’ Over Yonder is only a third new; the remaining tracks are drawn from three years of sessions with legendary producer Tom Dowd at the famed Criteria Studios in Miami – all never before released. It’s a new chance to discover the oft-underrated power of Black Oak Arkansas – who, in frontman Mangrum, many have seen a prime influence for some of the biggest frontmen in rock in the ’80s, including David Lee Roth and Axl Rose.

In addition to Back Thar N’ Over Yonder, Atlantic has also digitally released The Complete Raunch N’ Roll Live, a 2007 title from Rhino Handmade that expanded the original 1973 live album Raunch N’ Roll to two discs featuring two shows from 1972. Taken together, there’s a lot of boogie rock to get you going, even a month after its release.

Check out the specs for both and place your orders after the jump!

Back Thar N’ Over Yonder (Atlantic/ATCO 535984, 2013)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

  1. Plugged In and Wired
  2. Sweet Delta Water
  3. 15 Million Light Years Away
  4. I Ain’t Poor
  5. I Shall Be Released
  6. Gigilo
  7. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  8. Hot Rod
  9. The Snake
  10. Legal I.D.
  11. Jim Dandy (Original Vocal)
  12. Dance to the Music
  13. Evil Lady
  14. Summer Swing
  15. UP, UP, UP

Tracks 1-5 recorded 2013
Tracks 6-8, 13 and 15 recorded 1972
Tracks 9-10 recorded 1974
Tracks 11-12 and 14 recorded 1973. Original version of Track 11 released on High on the Hog (ATCO, 1973)

Black Oak Arkansas RR LiveThe Complete Raunch ‘N’ Roll Live (originally released as Rhino Handmade RHM2 7732, 2007)

Disc 1: Paramount Theatre, Portland, OR – 1/12/1972

  1. Gettin’ Kinda Cocky
  2. Fever in My Mind
  3. Uncle Lijiah
  4. Keep the Faith
  5. Mutants of the Monster
  6. Hot Rod
  7. Lord Have Mercy on My Soul
  8. Full Moon Ride
  9. When Electricity Came to Arkansas *
  10. Dixie
  11. Hot and Nasty *
  12. Up *
  13. Movin’

Disc 2: Paramount Theatre, Seattle, WA – 2/12/1972

  1. Gettin’ Kinda Cocky *
  2. Fever in My Mind
  3. Uncle Lijiah
  4. Gigolo *
  5. Mutants of the Monster *
  6. Hot Rod *
  7. Movin’
  8. Full Moon Ride
  9. When Electricity Came to Arkansas
  10. Hot and Nasty *
  11. Up

* originally released on ATCO LP SD-7019, 1973

Written by Mike Duquette

November 12, 2013 at 12:25

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One of the best Booze & Bluesy Rock Bands who never got the respect that the deserved.


    November 12, 2013 at 13:42

  2. new cd is primo black oak booggie


    November 12, 2013 at 20:58

  3. I’m not a huge fan of BOA by any stretch; I have the Rhino Handmade issue of “Raunch ‘N’ Roll,” and until now, that was good enough for me. But there’s some truly great stuff on this new comp. The new songs REALLY surprised me; IMO they’re every bit as good as some of BOA’s better ’70s stuff I’ve heard.

    Chief Brody

    November 13, 2013 at 21:14

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: