The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

No Time to Lose: Rainbow Announce Singles Box Set on CD

with 2 comments

rainbow_singles_box_setIn the tradition of similar boxes for Deep Purple (released by EMI in 2002) and Dio (released by Universal last year), Universal will release a 19CD box set replicating the singles offering by hard rock outfit Rainbow.

Formed toward the end of guitarist Ritchie Blackmore’s tenure with Deep Purple in 1975, Rainbow was a meticulously-coordinated rock band, inspired by the chord progression of classical music and with a lyrical bent toward medieval imagery. Adding greatly to the mix was the versatile vocalizations of lead singer Ronnie James Dio (whose previous band Elf was the backbone of the first Rainbow album). The lineup changed mightily over the years, most notably with Dio’s departure in 1978 and Blackmore’s decision to move the band toward a more mainstream rock sound. The group’s journey ended in 1984 when Blackmore reunited with Deep Purple, though he would use the name again in the mid-’90s, with all-new members.

The Singles Box 1975-1986 is definitely as much (if not more of) a collectible than a full-fledged box set. The nineteen singles (from all over the world, mind you) don’t feature a whole lot of truly rare material, aside from a few non-LP studio and live cuts and an edit or two. But for those who want to marvel at the band’s evolution over a near decade-long period (not to mention the replica single sleeves from different countries), this is the set for you. (And if prior boxes are any indication, expect this to go out of print and rather collectible with stunning speed.)

The Singles Box is available February 3 in the U.K. and a week later in the U.S. – hit the jump for full specs and pre-order links.

Rainbow, The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Polydor/UMC (U.K.), 2014)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

Disc 1 (released as Oyster OYR 103, 1975)

  1. Man on the Silver Mountain (7″ Edit)
  2. Snake Charmer

Disc 2 (released as Oyster 3C 006 97224 (IT), 1975)

  1. Still I’m Sad
  2. Temple of the King

Disc 3 (released as Polydor 0835 035 (DE), 1977)

  1. Man on the Silver Mountain (7″ Edit)
  2. Snake Charmer
  3. If You Don’t Like Rock ‘N’ Roll
  4. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves

Disc 4 (released as Oyster/Polydor OY 701 (U.S.), 1976)

  1. Starstruck
  2. Kill the King

Disc 5 (released as Oyster/Polydor 2066 845 (U.K.), 1977)

  1. Kill the King (Live – Edit)
  2. Man on the Silver Mountain (Live)
  3. Mistreated (Live – Edit)

Disc 6 (released as Polydor 2066 913 (U.K.), 1978)

  1. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll
  2. Sensitive to Light

Disc 7 (released as Polydor 2066 968 (U.K.), 1978)

  1. L.A. Connection (7″ Edit)
  2. Lady of the Lake

Disc 8 (released as Polydor POSP 70 (U.K.), 1979)

  1. Since You Been Gone
  2. Bad Girl

Disc 9 (released as Polydor 2095 104 (DE), 1979)

  1. Since You Been Gone
  2. No Time to Lose

Disc 10 (released as Polydor POSP 104 (U.K.), 1980)

  1. All Night Long
  2. Weiss Heim

Disc 11 (released as Polydor POSP 221 (U.K.), 1981)

  1. I Surrender
  2. Vielleicht Das Nächster Zeit (Maybe Next Time)

Disc 12 (released as Polydor 12″ 2141 373 (NL), 1981)

  1. Difficult to Cure
  2. Can’t Happen Here (7″ Edit)
  3. Jealous Lover

Disc 13 (released as Polydor 7DM-0033 (JP), 1981)

  1. Magic
  2. Freedom Fighter

Disc 14 (released as Polydor POSP 251 (U.K.), 1981)

  1. Can’t Happen Here (7″ Edit)
  2. Jealous Lover

Disc 15 (released as Polydor POSP 421 (U.K.), 1982)

  1. Stone Cold
  2. Rock Fever

Disc 16 (released as Polydor 2095 472 (NL), 1982)

  1. Death Alley Driver
  2. Tite Squeeze

Disc 17 (released as Polydor 12″ POSPX 631 (U.K.), 1983)

  1. Street of Dreams
  2. Anybody There
  3. Power (Live @ The San Antonio Convention Center)

Disc 18 (released as Polydor 12″ POSPX 654 (U.K.), 1983)

  1. Can’t Let You Go (7″ Edit)
  2. All Night Long (Live at David’s Hall, Cardiff)
  3. Stranded (Live at David’s Hall, Cardiff)

Disc 19 (released as Polydor 12″ 883 970-1 (DE), 1986)

  1. Bad Girl
  2. Spotlight Kid
  3. Man on the Silver Mountain

Written by Mike Duquette

December 17, 2013 at 11:53

Posted in Box Sets, News, Rainbow

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Whether or not I buy this will depend on the quality of the remastering. I have been caught out far too often recently, with a lot of modern remasters being almost unlistenable in terms of quality.
    A second factor will be the source material – if the remasters have been done from vinyl cutting masters instead of the proper mix tapes (and it is easy to tell) then I will definitely pass.
    I suspect I am right on both counts, but would dearly love to be proved wrong

    Neil Wilkes

    December 18, 2013 at 05:32

  2. These are the same remasters sources as the Deluxe Editions done by Andy Pearce. I am a Rainbow fanatic and they are not fatiguing on the ears at all. Very classy the way they were mastered and they were not shrill in any way-not to me at least. This is not an example of many of today’s crappy mastering.
    Aside from the look of this set, there is nothing rare.
    The 4 CD/1 DVD career spanning box due next year is going to have rare material if Blackmore ever OKs it all.


    December 18, 2013 at 22:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: