The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Rock Candy Supplies the Love with New Toto Remasters

with 6 comments

TotoFor years, Rock Candy Records has been doing great work with high-quality remasters of great album-oriented rock records. This year, they will take on one of the undisputed kings of that subgenre, with three reissues from Toto due on March 24.

Formed by a talented collection of session players, Toto – David Paich on keyboards, schoolmate Jeff Porcaro on drums, younger brother Steve adding his keyboard prowess, guitarist Steve Lukather, bassist David Hungate and lead singer Bobby Kimball – did a phenomenal job of fusing together pop, rock, R&B, jazz and progressive elements in a sound that was pretty immediately familiar (no surprise, given each member’s maniacally prolific discographies on the session front). 1978’s debut Toto spun off a Top 5 hit in “Hold the Line” (alongside moderate hits “I’ll Supply the Love” and “Georgy Porgy”) and earned the band a Grammy nomination for Best New Artist. Follow-ups Hydra (1979) and Turn Back (1981), featuring a slightly edgier, more lyrically obtuse presentation, were not nearly as successful, but 1982 saw the band bounce back in a big way – once with Toto IV, the band’s critical and commercial peak (with six Grammys and two smash singles, notably the chart-topping “Africa”), and once with Paich, Lukather and the Porcaros’ prominent session appearances on Michael Jackson’s Thriller, the other big album of 1982. (Steve Porcaro co-wrote one of the album’s seven hit singles, “Human Nature.”)

Hungate’s departure after the release of Toto IV and subsequent replacement by third brother Mike Porcaro was the first of a few lineup changes over the years. Vocalists included the late Fergie Frederiksen and Joseph Williams (son of film composer John), while Simon Phillips replaced Jeff Porcaro after his sudden passing in 1992. Today the band continues to tour, with Williams on vocals, new drummer Keith Carlock and legendary session bassist Nathan East filling in for the retired Mike Porcaro.

Featuring new remastering and essays, Toto, Hyrdra and Turn Back are solid new entries in the Rock Candy discography. (Toto features one bonus track – a 12″ dance version of “Georgy Porgy.”) Full track lists and Amazon U.K. links are after the jump.

Toto (originally released as Columbia JC 35317, 1978 – reissued Rock Candy Records (U.K.), 2014)

  1. Child’s Anthem
  2. I’ll Supply the Love
  3. Georgy Porgy
  4. Manuela Run
  5. You Are the Flower
  6. Girl Goodbye
  7. Takin’ It Back
  8. Rockmaker
  9. Hold the Line
  10. Angela
  11. Georgy Porgy (Special Disco Version) (12″ A-side – Columbia 43-11040, 1978)

Hydra (originally released as Columbia FC 36229, 1979 – reissued Rock Candy Records (U.K.), 2014)

  1. Hydra
  2. St. George & The Dragon
  3. 99
  4. Lorraine
  5. All Us Boys
  6. Mama
  7. White Sister
  8. A Secret Love

Turn Back (originally released as Columbia FC 36813, 1981 – reissued Rock Candy Records (U.K.), 2014)

  1. Gift with a Golden Gun
  2. English Eyes
  3. Live for Today
  4. A Million Miles Away
  5. Goodbye Elenore
  6. I Think I Could Stand You Forever
  7. Turn Back
  8. If It’s the Last Night

Written by Mike Duquette

February 20, 2014 at 11:44

Posted in News, Reissues, Toto

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope it’s Andy Pearce’s name in the remastering credit and not you-know-who…


    February 20, 2014 at 13:36

    • Jon Astley

      Phil Worth

      April 3, 2014 at 15:15

  2. Only one extra song over THREE reissues – not interested, as I already have the originals.

    Bill Janowski

    February 20, 2014 at 16:07

  3. Would it have killed them to include the single edit of 99?


    February 20, 2014 at 19:21

    • Yeah, apparently too much trouble for them abd their lazy ways…

      Bill Janowski

      February 20, 2014 at 23:45

  4. I sure hope they don’t screw these up. Their recent Roadmaster and Head East Live reissues were remaster disasters — totally distorted.

    Kevin Langin

    February 20, 2014 at 21:11

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: