The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Still Surfing: Joe Satriani’s “Complete Studio Recordings” Collected on New Box Set

leave a comment »

Joe Satriani - CompleteClose your eyes and think about Joe Satriani.  Chances are if you’re not picturing the guitar hero himself, you’re picturing his sophomore album, 1987’s Surfing with the Alien.  The artwork adorning the album, majestically drawn by Marvel Comics legend John Byrne for a 1982 comic book, depicts Marvel Comics’ noble Silver Surfer astride his surfboard as he travels through the farthest reaches of space.  Though Satriani hasn’t explored any new galaxies (yet), he has traveled many sonic avenues.  And for the very first time, you’ll be able to hear all of them in one place thanks to Epic Records and Legacy Recordings’ upcoming release of Joe Satriani: The Complete Studio Recordings.  This 15-CD box set due on April 22 houses each one of the axeman’s studio LPs between 1986’s Not of This Earth and 2013’s Unstoppable Momentum in newly-remastered editions.  To sweeten the pot, an exclusive bonus disc will round up an array of Satriani rarities.

 The New York native, born in 1956, made his solo debut on the Relativity label in 1986 with Not of This Earth, but broke through to the mainstream the next year with Surfing with the Alien.  Not only did three hit singles emerge from the album (the title track, “Satch Boogie” and the radio-only single “Always with Me, Always with You”) but the album peaked in the Top 40 of the Billboard 200 and eventually went platinum.  Satriani also received his first two Grammy nominations for Surfing; to date, he has fifteen such nods and, unbelievably, no wins.  Six-string master Satriani has continued to record regularly, but has also found time for extracurricular pursuits as a sideman and as a founding member of the rock supergroup Chickenfoot.  He’s played lead guitar live for Mick Jagger and Deep Purple, and has toured alongside the likes of Steve Lukather, Brian May, Robert Fripp, and Steve Vai.  Satriani shares a special connection with Vai, who was one of Satriani’s students from his days as a guitar teacher.  Among Satriani’s other past students are Kirk Hammett (Metallica), Larry LaLonde, David Bryson (Counting Crows) and Charlie Hunter.

What can you expect to find on the new box set?  Just hit the jump for more info including the complete track listing for the bonus disc!

The fourteen studio albums in the box set are joined by Added Creations and Bonus Tracks, a newly-curated assemblage of rare tracks and performances outside of the studio album canon.  These 16 recordings include alternate takes, remixes, one-offs, new-to-CD digital singles and EP cuts.  Satriani says of The Complete Studio Recordings, “When the good people at Legacy approached me with the idea of a comprehensive box set featuring my studio recordings in their entirety, plus bonus tracks, all re-mastered, I answered with a resounding, ‘YES!”  Longtime fans likely will, too.  Satriani has been joined in creating the box set by mastering engineer John Cuniberti.  He states, “John and I have recorded quite a bit of music together going way back to the early ’80s. I’ve made more records with John engineering and co-producing than anyone else, so, who better to help me put this box set together the right way? His attention to detail has made this project exciting, illuminating and ultimately awesome sounding. “

The Complete Studio Recordings premieres brand-new digital masters, overseen by Joe Satriani, with each CD packaged in a replica cardboard mini-sleeve in the style of Legacy’s other Complete Albums releases.  It’s housed in a clamshell box with a booklet filled with photos and memorabilia from across the four decades in which Satriani has recorded.  Its release also coincides with that of Satriani’s autobiography Strange Beautiful Music: A Memoir, also due in April.  In addition, the busy guitarist has also announced that he has extended his relationship with Legacy parent Sony Music.  He has signed a new multi-album deal with Legacy for future recordings.

Joe Satriani’s Complete Studio Recordings is due on April 22.  A special “Chrome Dome” USB edition will be available exclusively through Satriani’s official website and can be pre-ordered now.  You’ll find links to pre-order the box set just below!

Joe Satriani, The Complete Studio Albums Collection (Epic/Legacy 88725 41842-2, 2014) (Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.)

Disc 1: Not of This Earth (Relativity 88561-8110-2, 1986)

Disc 2: Surfing with the Alien (Relativity 88561-8193-2, 1987)

Disc 3: Flying in a Blue Dream (Relativity 88561-1015-2, 1989)

Disc 4: The Extremist (Relativity 88561-1053-2, 1992)

Disc 5: Time Machine – The Studio Recordings (first disc of Relativity 88561-1177-2, 1993)

Disc 6: Joe Satriani (Relativity 88561-1500-2, 1995)

Disc 7: Crystal Planet (Epic EK 68018, 1998)

Disc 8: Engines of Creation (Epic EK 67860, 2000)

Disc 9: Strange Beautiful Music (Epic EK 86294, 2002)

Disc 10: Is There Love in Space? (Epic EK 90832, 2004)

Disc 11: Super Colossal (Epic 82876 76755-2, 2006)

Disc 12: Professor Satchafunkilus and The Musterion of Rock (Epic 88697 21626-2, 2008)

Disc 13: Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards (Epic 88697 78635-2, 2010)

Disc 14: Unstoppable Momentum (Epic 88765 48285-2, 2013)

Disc 15: Additional Creations and Bonus Tracks

  1. The Crush of Love (from Dreaming #11 EP – Relativity 88561-8265-1, 1988)
  2. Time Machine (Remix) *
  3. Cool #9 (Alternate)
  4. Luminous Flesh Giants (Alternate)
  5. Borg Sex (Rock Mix) (from Additional Creations EP – Epic ESK 12618, 2000)
  6. Turkey Man (from Additional Creations EP – Epic ESK 12618, 2000)
  7. Flavor Crystal 7 (Rock Mix) (from Additional Creations EP – Epic ESK 12618, 2000)
  8. Until We Say Goodbye (Techno Mix) (from Additional Creations EP – Epic ESK 12618, 2000)
  9. Slick (from The Electric Joe Satriani: An Anthology – Epic EK 90717, 2003)
  10. The Eight Steps (from The Electric Joe Satriani: An Anthology – Epic EK 90717, 2003)
  11. Dog with Crown and Earring (from Is There Love in Space? – Epic EICP 355 (JP), 2004)
  12. Tumble (digital single – Epic (no cat. #), 2004)
  13. Ghosts (digital bonus track from Professor Satchafunkilus and The Musterion of Rock – Epic (no cat. #), 2008)
  14. Heartbeats (bonus track from Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards – Epic 88697 78635-2, 2010)
  15. Longing (bonus track from Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards – Epic 88697 78635-2, 2010)
  16. ZZ’s Song (Alternate)

exact origins of Tracks 3-4 and 16 undetermined

Written by Joe Marchese

February 24, 2014 at 09:42

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: