The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

In Case You Missed It: INXS’ Wembley Show Lives Anew in Digital Reissue

with one comment

INXS Wembley 1991If you’ve ever wondered why so much INXS catalogue activity centers solely around 1987’s Kick, there’s something new and different for you available: a live concert from the early 1990s, instead.

The Australian band have recently released Live At Wembley Stadium 1991 to digital retailers. This 22-track album features audio from the band’s July 13, 1991 concert at London’s famed stadium, which exactly six years prior held a rapt audience for Live Aid. Their Summer XS tour promoted the previous year’s release of tenth studio album X, another polished collaboration with Kick producer Chris Thomas that yielded more global success with singles like “Suicide Blonde” and “Disappear” becoming worldwide Top 10 hits.

Fans will recognize this program as identical to what was released on the videotape Live Baby Live that same year. A live album of the same name was recorded throughout the tour, and added one new studio track, “Shining Star.” (That same track features here, as well.) The audio from that video is here newly remastered by producer Mark Opitz, who produced the band’s Shabooh Shoobah (1982), Welcome to Wherever You Are (1992) and Full Moon, Dirty Hearts (1993) as well as the original Live Baby Live album.

So far, only iTunes seems to be the place you can get Live At Wembley Stadium 1991, although the band’s official site is selling a two-disc edition of the set, ostensibly to tie into the recent Australian broadcast of INXS: Never Tear Us Apart, a miniseries about the country’s favorite musical sons (the critical reception of which actually bought Kick and a recent compilation back into the country’s Top 10). The track list for this vintage show is below.

INXS, Live At Wembley Stadium 1991 (Petrol Electric, 2014)

  1. Guns in the Sky
  2. New Sensation
  3. I Send a Message
  4. The Stairs
  5. Know the Difference
  6. Disappear
  7. By My Side
  8. Hear That Sound
  9. Original Sin
  10. The Loved One
  11. Wild Life
  12. Mystify
  13. Bitter Tears
  14. Suicide Blonde
  15. What You Need
  16. Kick
  17. Need You Tonight
  18. Mediate
  19. Never Tear Us Apart
  20. Who Pays the Price
  21. Devil Inside
  22. Shining Star

All tracks except Track 22 recorded live at Wembley Stadium, London – 7/13/1991
Track 22 first released on Live Baby Live (EastWest 9031 75630-2 (AUS)/Atlantic 82294 (U.S.), 1991)

Written by Mike Duquette

February 26, 2014 at 15:26

Posted in Digital, INXS, News, Reissues

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s very funny! When this was originally released no one could pronounce the title right who did not know other wise! People thought it said “Live” as in a “live” concert but it was the opposite. It was pronounced “liv” as in “Live your life.”. If what I am saying…or typing is making sense. Well the confusion is gone…but so is the creative title. I think that is somewhat sad…of course…it could always be re-released the way it was some day! 🙂


    February 27, 2014 at 13:59

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: