The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Varese Goes On A Record Store Day “Odessey” With The Zombies, The Everly Brothers, Norman Greenbaum [UPDATED]

with 2 comments

Odessey and OracleUPDATED 4/15: It’s the time of the season for Varese Sarabande’s Vintage imprint.  The label has recently announced its four limited edition vinyl offerings for this April 19’s Record Store Day, with two LPs from The Zombies plus goodies from The Everly Brothers, and Norman Greenbaum.  We also have details on the label’s vinyl Genesis reissue coming later this year.

Initially rejected by Clive Davis and then championed by Al Kooper, The Zombies’ 1968 Odessey and Oracle remains the British band’s most beloved album.  Rod Argent reflected on it in the liner notes to Rhino’s 1987 reissue: “The songs were inspired by a variety of influences, but they were songs which came from our hearts. They were not the result of a producer or record company imposing their views of what a hit single might be. Some of the songs were romantic, others sparked by literature (‘Butchers Tale,’ ‘Brief Candles’) – ‘A Rose for Emily’ was inspired by a Faulkner short story. Chris reflected on his experience growing up near Beechwood Park in his song of that name. ‘Time of the Season’ was actually influenced by Smokey Robinson’s ‘The Tracks of My Tears.’”  All of these diverse influences added up to a haunting, intricate song cycle with baroque orchestration, psychedelia, blues and rock hand-in-hand.  For RSD, Varese is returning Odessey to vinyl in its original stereo mix.  It will be joined by The Zombies, in mono.  This LP dates to 1966, when it was released by the band’s original label Decca as I Love You in Europe and Japan only.  I Love You compiled twelve single sides (including the hit “She’s Not There”) onto one LP; Varese gave the album its first U.S. release in 2004 on CD in a reworked and expanded edition.  Now it’s appearing for the first time on vinyl in the United States.

Songs Our Daddy Taught UsThe Everly Brothers’ 1958 LP Songs Our Daddy Taught Us was recently covered, song-for-song, by the odd couple duo of Norah Jones and Billie Jo Armstrong as Foreverly.  Just a couple of weeks ago, Varese reissued this classic collection on CD with six previously unissued bonus tracks.  On RSD, the original 12-track Cadence album returns to vinyl.  Far cries from hits like “Bye Bye Love” and “Bird Dog,” these Songs were passed down to Don and Phil from their father, concerned with the likes of murder, thievery, jail and aging.  Though Songs wasn’t commercially successful at the time, it’s since been rediscovered as a true cornerstone of Americana.  (Look for our review of Varese’s reissue in the days prior to Record Store Day!)

After the jump: we’ll look at Varese’s offerings from Genesis and Norman Greenbaum…plus full track listings for all five titles!

Norman Greenbaum - Spirit in the SkyLast but not least, a reissue of singer-songwriter Norman Greenbaum’s Spirit in the Sky will arrive on RSD.  Best known for its spiritual title track which is still an oldies radio staple today, Spirit hasn’t appeared on vinyl since its original release in 1969.  With production from Erik Jacobsen (The Lovin’ Spoonful), Spirit includes the No. 3 U.S./No. 1 U.K. hit (once favorably cited by no less a pop eminence than John Lennon!) and nine other original songs penned by Greenbaum.

From Genesis to Revelation, featuring Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Mike Rutherford and Anthony Phillips plus drummer Chris Stewart, then John Silver, is the debut album of GenesisIt was originally announced to arrive this Saturday, but it will not arrive until this November’s Black Friday Record Store Day Event.  Varese tells us, “Due to unforeseen manufacturing issues the Genesis vinyl album From Genesis To Revelation will, unfortunately, not be ready to ship in time for this year’s Record Store Day.  Varese has been working diligently with our manufacturer Erika Records to resolve the problem. While checking test pressings in quality control, both of us found points that did not meet with either of our production standards.”  The Black Friday release will mark the first time this album will be available on vinyl since its original U.S. release in 1974. Produced by Jonathan King (“Everyone’s Gone to the Moon”) in a baroque style not dissimilar to The Bee Gees’ recordings of the time, it features the original core Genesis line-up of Mike Rutherford, Tony Banks, Anthony Phillips, and Peter Gabriel.

You can check out the full specs including limited edition quantities and track listings below.  All titles will be available at your favorite independent record retailer on Saturday, April 19 from Varese Vintage!

The Zombies, Odessey and Oracle (Stereo, Limited Edition of 2,500)

Side One:

  1. Care of Cell 44
  2. A Rose for Emily
  3. Maybe After He’s Gone
  4. Beechwood Park
  5. Brief Candles
  6. Hung Up On A Dream

Side Two:

  1. Changes
  2. I Want Her She Wants Me
  3. This Will Be Our Year
  4. Butcher’s Tale (Western Front 1914)
  5. Friends of Mine
  6. Time of the Season

The Everly Brothers, Songs Our Daddy Taught Us (Mono) (Limited Edition of 1,500)

Side One:

  1. Roving Gambler
  2. Down in the Willow Garden
  3. Long Time Gone
  4. Lightning Express
  5. That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine
  6. Who’s Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet


  1. Barbara Allen
  2. Oh So Many Years
  3. I’m Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
  4. Rockin’ Alone (In an Old Rockin’ Chair)
  5. Kentucky
  6. Put My Little Shoes Away

The Zombies, The Zombies (Mono) (Limited Edition of 1,500)

Side One:

  1. The Way I Feel Inside
  2. How We Were Before
  3. Is This The Dream
  4. Whenever You’re Ready
  5. Woman
  6. You Make Me Feel Good

Side Two

  1. Gotta Get A Hold Of Myself
  2. Indication
  3. Don’t Go Away
  4. I Love You
  5. Leave Me Be
  6. She’s Not There

Norman Greenbaum, Spirit In The Sky (Stereo) (Limited Edition of 1,500)

Side One

  1. Junior Cadillac
  2. Spirit In The Sky
  3. Skyline
  4. Jubilee
  5. Alice Bodine

Side Two

  1. Tars of India
  2.  The Power
  3. Good Lookin’ Woman
  4. Milk Cow
  5. Marcy

Written by Joe Marchese

April 15, 2014 at 10:55

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As I am too forgetful to do the research, can you tell us if the CD issue of Everly’s “Songs” has tracks that were not on any Bear Family box?

    I also forget if the Bear Family set of the original 12 songs was in stereo….


    March 25, 2014 at 08:33

    • The CD’s six alternate takes are all previously unreleased. They’re not on Bear Family’s “Classic Everly Brothers” box, and they’re not on BF’s “Studio Outtakes,” either.

      Take 3 of “Down in the Willow Garden” is on the “Outtakes” set; the Varese has the Take 1 electric version and the Take 2 alternate arrangement. BF’s “Outtakes” also has alternate takes of “That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine,” “Long Time Gone,” “Oh So Many Years,” “Rockin’ Alone in My Old Rockin’ Chair,” “Who’s Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet,” “Kentucky” and “I’m Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail.” The Varese issue is the only place to find the alternate takes of “Barbara Allen,” “Roving Gambler” and “Put My Little Shoes Away.”

      Joe Marchese

      April 15, 2014 at 21:02

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: