The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Now They’re Here: Queen Prep Unreleased Shows for “Live At The Rainbow ’74”

with 4 comments

Queen Live At The Rainbow 74After a 40-year wait, a pair of pivotal early shows by Queen will see official release, it was announced yesterday.

1974 saw the British quartet release their second album, Queen II, earn their first U.K. Top 10 single (“Seven Seas of Rhye”) and embark on their first headlining tour. While some critics found a headlining slot at The Rainbow a daunting challenge for such a new band, Freddie Mercury, Brian May, John Deacon and Roger Taylor sold even the most skeptical observer at their March date in the fabled venue. Queen would quickly record and release their third album, Sheer Heart Attack, that same year, and reappeared at The Rainbow in November, the same month the album was released.

Hardcore fans, of course, might know that the March 1974 show was recorded by producer Roy Thomas Baker with an intention to release a live album later that year. That never materialized, though the November show was filmed and released in part on VHS in the Box of Tricks set issued in 1992. Now, however, audio of both shows, as well as video from both sets, will be available on Live At The Rainbow ’74. Together, they mark some of the earliest live Queen performances officially heard, with several tracks making their first appearances on a live release, making it quite the boon for collectors.

And the band, along with their distributing labels (Virgin in the U.K. and Hollywood in the U.S.) is going all-out in releasing this set. A single-disc edition features the November show in full, while the two-disc version features both the March and November shows. The November show (and four tracks from the March show) will be featured on DVD and Blu-ray Disc editions, to be released through Eagle Rock Entertainment. (A U.S. exclusive will pair the November show on CD with the Blu-ray.) Two vinyl packages will be available: a double-vinyl set that features “album presentations” from both shows and a quadruple-vinyl set with both shows in full. Finally, a super-deluxe box includes all the CD, DVD and Blu-ray content plus the following extra swag:

  • A 60-page hardback book featuring previously unseen photographs, and reproductions of vintage reviews and articles
  • Two replica tickets from the March concert (the seats, in fact, were that of Brian May’s parents)
  • A reproduction of the tour itinerary folder for the March concert from promoter Mel Bush
  • A replica of the eight-page tour program
  • Two replica souvenir button badges
  • A tour poster
  • Reproduced photos from a shoot for The Telegraph
  • A replica sticker backstage pass for the March concert

The Live At The Rainbow ’74 packages are available September 8 and 9, respectively. Amazon U.K. links are live, with additional information expected to follow. Hit the jump for a full track list!

Queen, Live At The Rainbow ’74 (Hollywood (U.S.)/Virgin (U.K.), 2014)

1CD: Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S. (TBD)
2CD: Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S. (TBD)
DVD: Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S. (TBD)
Blu-ray: Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S. (TBD)
CD/Blu-ray: Amazon U.S. (TBD)
2LP: Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S. (TBD)
4LP: Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S. (TBD)
2CD/DVD/Blu-ray: Amazon U.K. / Amazon U.S. (TBD)

Disc 1: Live At The Rainbow Theatre – 3/31/1974

  1. Procession *
  2. Father to Son *
  3. Ogre Battle *
  4. Son and Daughter * **
  5. Guitar Solo * **
  6. Son and Daughter (Reprise) * **
  7. White Queen (As It Began)
  8. Great King Rat
  9. The Fairy Feller’s Master-Stroke
  10. Keep Yourself Alive *
  11. Drum Solo *
  12. Keep Yourself Alive (Reprise) *
  13. Seven Seas of Rhye *
  14. Modern Times Rock ’n’ Roll * **
  15. Jailhouse Rock/Stupid Cupid/Be Bop a Lula (Medley)
  16. Liar *
  17. See What a Fool I’ve Been

Disc 2: Live At The Rainbow Theatre – 11/20/1974 (Disc 1 of standard edition)

  1. Procession *
  2. Now I’m Here *
  3. Ogre Battle
  4. Father to Son
  5. White Queen (As It Began) *
  6. Flick of the Wrist *
  7. In the Lap of the Gods *
  8. Killer Queen *
  9. The March of The Black Queen *
  10. Bring Back That Leroy Brown *
  11. Son and Daughter
  12. Guitar Solo
  13. Son and Daughter (Reprise)
  14. Keep Yourself Alive
  15. Drum Solo
  16. Keep Yourself Alive (Reprise)
  17. Seven Seas of Rhye
  18. Stone Cold Crazy *
  19. Liar
  20. In the Lap of the Gods…Revisited *
  21. Big Spender
  22. Modern Times Rock ’n’ Roll
  23. Jailhouse Rock
  24. God Save The Queen

* denotes included track on 2LP edition
** denotes bonus highlight on DVD/BD

Written by Mike Duquette

June 17, 2014 at 10:54

Posted in Box Sets, News, Queen, Vinyl

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. About time!! The setlists here are killer! Queen II is a masterpiece and it is nice to see it finally getting its due in live form. I am a huge Queen fan so I will spring for the deluxe edition. Here’s hoping that the first run does not have as many errors as the Roger Taylor “The Lot” package had on its initial release. We have seen portions of this release on boots through the years and the guys are on fire. Bring on some more!

    Ray Judson

    June 17, 2014 at 12:00

  2. Great news – I have the christmas eve show on a really nice bootleg, as well as a scrapped live album from (if I recall correctly) the Rainbow Theatre as well.
    I saw t his one live on BBC “Sight & Sound In Concert” when BBC2 showed the footage & Radio 2 broadcast the audio in glorious FM stereo. Well, it was great at the time anyway. Pre-ordered the 2CD/DVD/BD edition without a second thought.


    June 17, 2014 at 12:04

  3. The Super Deluxe is up for $79 on Amazon. The Queen official site has it listed at $155.


    June 17, 2014 at 19:14

  4. ABSOLUTELY getting this. Probably just the 2 CD edition.


    June 18, 2014 at 07:13

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: