The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Top of the Pops: The Kinks (Finally) Announce Deluxe “Lola” Reissue

with 3 comments

Kinks - LolaThis summer, you’ll have good reason to be kinda krazy about the Kinks. U.K. magazine Uncut is reporting that the band is celebrating its 50th anniversary with a deluxe reissue series beginning on August 18. That’s the date when the long-awaited 2-CD edition of 1970’s Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One will arrive in stores from BMG Rights Management (current owner of Sanctuary Records).

The expanded edition of Lola is being shepherded by the noted producer, historian and Kinks archivist Andrew Sandoval. Sandoval has previously been responsible for a number of 2-CD reissues and box sets from the legendary British band – most recently the 2013 overhaul of 1971’s Muswell Hillbillies. Lola, The Kinks’ eighth studio album, has long been one of the most requested titles in this series. It spawned the Top 10 U.S. hit “Lola” and U.K. Top 5 “Apeman,” and although the LP didn’t fare well in the group’s native England, it earned Top 40 status in America.

Lola, primarily written by Ray Davies with a couple of key contributions from Dave Davies (“Strangers” and “Rats”), will be paired in the new edition with 1971’s Percy. The latter was composed entirely by Ray as the soundtrack to director Ralph Thomas’ comedy film starring Hywel Bennett, Denholm Elliott, and bombshells Britt Ekland and Elke Sommer. The Kinks’ soundtrack, featuring orchestral arrangements by Stanley Myers, has aged considerably better than the movie itself, which involves a transplant of a rather sensitive male organ. Both Lola and Percy will boast bonus content.

What bonus material will you find here?  Hit the jump!

The original 13-track Lola album will be bolstered by seven previously unreleased bonus tracks including alternate versions of the title track, “Apeman” and “Got to Be Free” as well as instrumentals of “The Contenders” in demo form and “This Time Tomorrow,” and the songs “Anytime” and “The Good Life.” (Sanctuary’s previous single-disc reissue included the mono single mix of “Lola” and acoustic demos of “Apeman” and “Powerman.” While the “Lola” 45 mix has been appended to Disc 2 here, the “Apeman” and “Powerman” demos appear to be missing.

Disc 2, kicking off with the 13-track Percy soundtrack album, adds ten bonus tracks, six of which are previously unreleased. Of the previously released material, you’ll find the mono single versions of “Lola,” “Apeman” and “Rats” from Lola and the mono film mix of Percy’s “The Way Love Used to Be,” first released in 1998. The six unreleased tracks are a remix of “Dreams” from Percy, unique mono versions of Lola’s “Powerman,” “The Moneygoround” and “Apeman,” and “God’s Children” and its finale reprise in the Percy mono film mixes. This edition appears to have orphaned the mono film mix of “Moments” and the alternate versions of “The Way Love Used to Be” from the prior CD reissue.

The expanded Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround has been remastered by producer Sandoval from the original master tapes, and promises a booklet including new liner notes and memorabilia images. It’s due on August 18 from BMG, with more titles expected to be announced for the fall! You can peruse the track listing below!

The Kinks, Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround: Deluxe Edition (Sanctuary/BMG, 2014) (Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K. )

CD 1: Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround Part One plus bonus tracks

  1. The Contenders (2.42)
  2. Strangers (3.18)
  3. Denmark Street (1.59)
  4. Get Back in Line (3.04)
  5. Lola (4.01)
  6. Top of the Pops (3.39)
  7. The Moneygoround (1.43)
  8. This Time Tomorrow (3.21)
  9. A Long Way from Home (2.26)
  10. Rats (2.38)
  11. Apeman (3.51)
  12. Powerman (4.16)
  13. Got to Be Free (2.59)
  14. Anytime (3.32)
  15. The Contenders (Instrumental Demo) (3.00)
  16. The Good Life (3.16)
  17. Lola (Alternate Version) (5.16)
  18. This Time Tomorrow (Instrumental) (3.17)
  19. Apeman (Alternate Stereo Version) (3.40)
  20. Got to Be Free (Alternate Version) (2.02)

Tracks 1-13 originally released on Lola Versus Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One, Pye LP NSPL 18359, 1970 Tracks 14-20 previously unreleased

CD 2: Percy plus bonus tracks

  1. God’s Children (3.17)
  2. Lola (Instrumental) (4.42)
  3. The Way Love Used to Be (2.12)
  4. Completely (3.39)
  5. Running Round Town (1.03)
  6. Moments (2.56)
  7. Animals in the Zoo (2.19)
  8. Just Friends (2.35)
  9. Whip Lady (1.18)
  10. Dreams (3.42)
  11. Helga (1.53)
  12. Willesden Green (2.25)
  13. God’s Children (End) (0.28)
  14. Dreams (Remix) (3.21)
  15. Lola (Mono Single) (4.06)
  16. Apeman (Mono Single) (3.52)
  17. Rats (Mono Single) (2.40)
  18. Powerman (Mono) (4.25)
  19. The Moneygoround (Mono Alternate Version) (1.39)
  20. Apeman (Alternate Mono Version) (3.40)
  21. God’s Children (Mono Film Mix) (3.16)
  22. The Way Love Used to Be (Mono Film Mix) (2.04)
  23. God’s Children (End) (Mono Film Mix) (0.49)

Tracks 1-13 originally released on Percy, Pye LP PSPL 18365, 1971
Tracks 14, 18-21, 23 previously unreleased
Tracks 15-17 originally released on various singles, 1970
Track 22 originally released on Percy, Castle CD ESMCD 510, 1998

Written by Joe Marchese

July 8, 2014 at 13:40

Posted in News, Reissues, The Kinks

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really hope this means they’ll finally have all these deluxe editions available on iTunes!!

    Jim Regan (@Jbones72)

    July 8, 2014 at 13:56

  2. Yes, Percy-tracks like God’s Children, The Way Love Use To Be, Moments, Animals In The Zoo (with its Apeman-goove) and Dreams is up there among Ray Davies finest and would have done better use in a grander movie. I’ve never seen the film Percy myself tough but I belive in the anti-hype.

    Magnus Hägermyr

    July 9, 2014 at 05:18

  3. ‘the “Apeman” and “Powerman” demos appear to be missing.’

    I don’t think they are missing. The Apeman ‘demo’ is actually an alt. mono version which is included. Similarly, the Powerman mono on the deluxe is most likely the demo version from the last release.

    I know they’re labelled ‘previously unreleased’, but so have tracks on the other deluxe editions (incorrectly).

    Sean Anderson

    July 10, 2014 at 08:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: