The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Call Him The Breeze: Clapton and Friends Celebrate Music of J.J. Cale On New Album, Exclusive Box Set

leave a comment »

Eric Clapton - The BreezeIn 2006, Eric Clapton teamed with singer-songwriter J.J. Cale for the collaborative album The Road to Escondido.  The guitar god had long been a fan and patron of Cale’s; he included “After Midnight” on his 1970 solo debut and took “Cocaine” to the Top 30 in 1977.  Escondido earned both men a Grammy for Best Contemporary Blues Album, and it would prove to be among Cale’s final recordings.  He released the album Roll On in 2009, featuring Clapton on its title track.  Then, in 2013, Cale passed away at the age of 74.  On July 29, Clapton pays homage to his old friend with The Breeze: An Appreciation of J.J. Cale.  In the spirit of The Road to Escondido, Clapton has called on pals and admirers alike to celebrate Cale’s legacy, among them Tom Petty, Mark Knopfler, Willie Nelson, Derek Trucks and John Mayer.  The Bushbranch/Surfdog Records release is being paired in a special online-exclusive box set with a disc of Cale’s original songs as covered on the new record, including three previously unissued tracks, as well as a special USB stick and more special content.

The Breeze takes its title from “Call Me the Breeze,” which Cale first recorded on his own solo debut, 1972’s Naturally.  The song was picked up by Lynyrd Skynyrd, Johnny Cash, Bobby Bare and John Mayer; Clapton tackles it himself on The Breeze.  Mayer joins Clapton on the new album for another Naturally tune, “Magnolia,” as well as for “Lies” (from 1973’s Really) and “Don’t Wait” (from 1982’s Grasshopper).  Tom Petty, whose latest album with The Heartbreakers also arrives this summer, handles “Rock and Roll Records,” “The Old Man and Me” and “I Got the Same Old Blues,” all from 1974’s Okie.  (Petty and his band covered the Okie track “I’d Like to Love You Baby” in concert, leading to its inclusion on their 2009 Live Anthology.)  Cale’s country-blues style also appealed to Willie Nelson, who appears on The Breeze with “Starbound” from Okie and the previously unheard “Songbird.”  Willie is supported on the former by The Allman Brothers Band’s Derek Trucks, who also is represented by “Crying Eyes” from Naturally.

Another guitar virtuoso, Mark Knopfler, is featured on two more previously unreleased Cale songs, “Someday” and “Train to Nowhere” with Don White.  Cale helped White form his first band and played guitar in that unit; White pays tribute to his friend and mentor with two more tracks, as well – “Sensitive Kind” and “I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me),” from 5 and Okie, respectively.

After the jump, we have full specs on the box set plus track listings, order links and more!

Clapton - Breeze Box

The Surfdog-exclusive box set edition of The Breeze is the only place you’ll find a CD with Cale’s original recordings of the songs featured on the new set.  It includes:

  • Collectible edition box featuring image of Cale’s Harmony guitar;
  • CD of Eric Clapton and Friends – The Breeze (An Appreciation of JJ Cale);
  • CD of J.J. Cale’s original versions from The Breeze including three unreleased songs: “Someday,” “Songbird” and “Train to Nowhere” plus the original single version of “After Midnight” which hasn’t been released since 1966;
  • One-of-a-kind custom J.J. Cale USB turnbuckle loaded with The Breeze high-resolution tracks, MP3s of all songs featured on the 2 CDs, and an extensive video interview with Eric Clapton;
  • Six 8.5×11 Lithographs
  • 20-page, 9 x 12 book with extended liner notes, lyrics and exclusive photos.

Surfdog is also offering a special 4-LP vinyl edition with the complete The Breeze and the Cale originals album minus “After Midnight.”

The Breeze (An Appreciation of J.J. Cale) is available now for pre-order from Surfdog Records in these exclusive sets.  You’ll also find Amazon links for the standard CD edition below!  All versions are due on July 29.

Eric Clapton and Friends, The Breeze (An Appreciation of J.J. Cale) (Bushbranch/Surfdog, 2014)

2-CD Box Set: Surfdog Records

4-LP Vinyl Edition: Surfdog Records

Standard Edition: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

CD 1 (Standard and Deluxe Editions):

  1. Call Me The Breeze
  2. Rock And Roll Records (feat. Tom Petty)
  3. Someday (feat. Mark Knopfler)
  4. Lies (feat. John Mayer)
  5. Sensitive Kind (feat. Don White)
  6. Cajun Moon
  7. Magnolia (feat. John Mayer)
  8. I Got The Same Old Blues (feat. Tom Petty)
  9. Songbird (feat. Willie Nelson)
  10. Since You Said Goodbye
  11. I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me) (feat. Don White)
  12. The Old Man And Me (feat. Tom Petty)
  13. Train To Nowhere (feat. Mark Knopfler and Don White)
  14. Starbound (feat. Willie Nelson and Derek Trucks)
  15. Don’t Wait (feat. John Mayer)
  16. Crying Eyes (feat. Christine Lakeland and Derek Trucks)

CD 2: J.J. Cale Originals (Box Set Only):

  1. Call Me The Breeze
  2. Rock And Roll Records
  3. Someday (Unreleased Demo)
  4. Lies
  5. Sensitive Kind
  6. Cajun Moon
  7. Magnolia
  8. I Got The Same Old Blues
  9. Songbird (Unreleased Demo)
  10. Since You Said Goodbye
  11. I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)
  12. The Old Man And Me
  13. Train To Nowhere (Unreleased Demo)
  14. Starbound
  15. Don’t Wait
  16. Crying Eyes
  17. After Midnight (Original 1966 Version)

Tracks 1, 7 & 16 from Naturally, Shelter, 1972
Tracks 2, 6, 8, 12, 14 & 11 from Okie, Shelter, 1974
Tracks 3, 9 & 13 are previously unreleased
Track 4 from Lies, Shelter, 1973
Track 5 from 5, MCA, 1979
Track 10 from Rewind: The Unreleased Recordings, Time Life, 2007
Track 15 from Grasshopper, Mercury, 1982
Track 17 from Liberty single 55931, 1966

Written by Joe Marchese

July 18, 2014 at 11:55

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: