The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Make It Fast, Make It Urgent: Foreigner Box Up Atlantic Albums

with 6 comments

Foreigner - Complete

You’ve been waiting for a box like this.

On October 14, Rhino will unveil the 7-CD collection from Foreigner, The Complete Atlantic Studio Albums 1977-1991.  As the classic rock band’s discography has amounted to just three albums since its departure from Atlantic in 1991, this box brings together Foreigner’s prime material including five U.S. multi-platinum smash LPs and hits like “Waiting for a Girl Like You,” “Feels Like the First Time,” “Cold as Ice,” “Hot Blooded,”  and “I Want to Know What Love Is.”

Foreigner, founded by vocalist Lou Gramm, guitarist Mick Jones, drummer Dennis Elliott, bassist Ed Gagliardi and multi-instrumentalist Ian McDonald, was a hot property from the time of its very first release.  1977’s 5x platinum Foreigner reached No. 4 on the Billboard 200 and yielded the hit singles “Feels Like the First Time,” “Cold as Ice” and “Long, Long Way From Home.”  The album began an unabated string of hits for the British/American band, straight through 1987’s Inside Information.    By the time of Foreigner’s Atlantic swansong Unusual Heat (1991, and the last CD in this box set), only Jones and Elliott remained from the original line-up.  Rick Wills had replaced Gagliardi as of the group’s third album, 1979’s Head Games, while Unusual Heat marked the debut of Wild Horses singer Johnny Edwards, replacing Lou Gramm.  (Gramm returned to the fold in 1992, and was with Foreigner for its 1994 Arista debut, Mr. Moonlight.)

Rhino expanded Foreigner’s first four albums in 2002, fleshing out each release with demos, live tracks and outtakes.  Happily, this box will replicate the contents of those four releases, adding a total of nine bonus tracks to the original album sequences.   Typical of this program of complete albums from Rhino, it doesn’t appear that The Complete Atlantic Studio Albums 1977-1991 will include a booklet with any liner notes or additional credits beyond those which appeared on the original LP sleeves.  All albums will be presented in replica mini-LP jackets and retain the most recent prior masterings.

After the jump, we have more information including the complete track listing with discography!

The current lineup of Foreigner, led by Mick Jones, toured this year with the Soundtrack of Summer tour, sharing a bill with Styx and Eagles’ Don Felder; a commemorative album of that tour featuring re-recordings from Styx and Foreigner and a new recording of “Hotel California” is currently available as a Wal-Mart exclusive release.

Rhino’s upcoming box is an affordable opportunity to obtain the group’s original catalogue in one compact package.  It hits stores on October 14, and can be pre-ordered below!

Foreigner, The Complete Atlantic Studio Albums 1977-1991 (Atlantic/Rhino, 2014) (Amazon U.S.Amazon U.K.)

Disc 1: Foreigner (Atlantic SD 18215, 1977 – expanded Atlantic/Rhino R2 74270, 2002)

  1. Feels Like the First Time
  2. Cold As Ice
  3. Starrider
  4. Headknocker
  5. The Damage is Done
  6. Long, Long Way from Home
  7. Woman Oh Woman
  8. At War with the World
  9. Fool for You Anyway
  10. I Need You
  11. Feels Like the First Time (Demo)
  12. Woman Oh Woman (Demo)
  13. At War with the World (Demo)
  14. Take Me to Your Leader (Demo)

Disc 2: Double Vision (Atlantic SD 19999, 1978 – expanded Atlantic/Rhino R2 78187, 2002)

  1. Hot Blooded
  2. Blue Morning, Blue Day
  3. You’re All I Am
  4. Back Where You Belong
  5. Love Has Taken Its Toll
  6. Double Vision
  7. Tramontane
  8. I Have Waited So Long
  9. Lonely Children
  10. Spellbinder
  11. Hot Blooded (Live in Anaheim – 1982)
  12. Love Maker (Live in Chicago, 1977)

Disc 3: Head Games (Atlantic SD 29999, 1979 – expanded Atlantic/Rhino R2 78198, 2002)

  1. Dirty White Boy
  2. Love on the Telephone
  3. Women
  4. I’ll Get Even with You
  5. Seventeen
  6. Head Games
  7. The Modern Day
  8. Blinded by Science
  9. Do What You Like
  10. Rev on the Red Line
  11. Zalia (Outtake)

Disc 4: (Atlantic SD 16999, 1981 – expanded Atlantic/Rhino R2 78275, 2002)

  1. Night Life
  2. Juke Box Hero
  3. Break It Up
  4. Waiting for a Girl Like You
  5. Luanne
  6. Urgent
  7. I’m Gonna Win
  8. Woman in Black
  9. Girl on the Moon
  10. Don’t Let Go
  11. Juke Box Hero (Nearly Unplugged Version – 1999)
  12. Waiting for a Girl Like You (Nearly Unplugged Version – 1999)

Disc 5: Agent Provocateur (Atlantic 81999, 1984)

  1. Tooth and Nail
  2. That Was Yesterday
  3. I Want to Know What Love Is
  4. Growing Up the Hard Way
  5. Reaction to Action
  6. Stranger in My Own House
  7. A Love in Vain
  8. Down on Love
  9. Two Different Worlds
  10. She’s Too Tough

Disc 6: Inside Information (Atlantic 82299, 1987)

  1. Heart Turns to Stone
  2. Can’t Wait
  3. Say You Will
  4. I Don’t Want to Live Without You
  5. Counting Every Minute
  6. Inside Information
  7. The Beat of My Heart
  8. Face to Face
  9. Out of the Blue
  10. A Night to Remember

Disc 7: Unusual Heat (Atlantic 81808, 1991)

  1. Only Heaven Knows
  2. Lowdown and Dirty
  3. I’ll Fight for You
  4. Moment of Truth
  5. Mountain of Love
  6. Ready for the Rain
  7. When the Night Comes Down
  8. Safe in My Heart
  9. No Hiding Place
  10. Flesh Wound
  11. Unusual Heat

Written by Joe Marchese

September 17, 2014 at 10:32

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wasted opportunity – There are tons of non-album b-sides, live recordings and remixes that are long overdue (especially from Agent P. and Inside Info albums), and as good as the unplugged sessions are, they are taken from a fan-club only release recently – not period material. Oh what could have been on this the 30 anniv. year of HEAD GAMES…..

    Todd R.

    September 17, 2014 at 10:55

  2. Mr. Marchese – You’ve erroneously got the tracklistings for Inside Information and Unusual Heat reversed (I’m sure it’s just an oversight). Also, Inside Information is the red-headed stepchild of the Foreigner catalog; a glorious return-to-form that has NEVER been remastered (Rhino only went as far as Agent Provocateur). Can you tell me if the box contains a shiny new remaster for this album? The volume on the existing version is criminally low.

    Eric M. Vaughnes

    September 17, 2014 at 23:09

  3. Can there ever be enough Foreigner? The answer is Yes! They hit it out of the park on the 1st and 4th but I’m not sure what they were doing on the 2nd,3rd,5th,6th and 7th?

    Save your money on this mess.

    Mr MacGoo

    September 18, 2014 at 09:40

    • Spoken just like the casual consumer who was only weened on what commercial radio spoon-fed you. The first and fourth Foreigner albums are only the most blatantly obvious, not necessarily the best.

      Eric M. Vaughnes

      September 18, 2014 at 11:49

  4. What non-album b-sides aside from “Street Thunder” are there? Foreigner never had b-sides of any use. There were single edits and some remixes but who cares?
    What I do want to know is if they used the remaster of Agent Provocateur that slipped out in the 90’s and if Inside Information and the underrated Unusual Heat are remastered. I highly doubt it though-this seems to be more rehash.


    September 18, 2014 at 11:28

    • Two months later, and I still pass this box by in the store because I can’t get a definitive ‘yea’ or ‘nay’ on the remastering of the last two. I feel your pain, chudbeagle.

      Eric M. Vaughnes

      November 7, 2014 at 00:18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: