The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

If Everyone Was Listening: Supertramp’s “Crime of the Century” Goes Deluxe

with 4 comments

Supertramp - Crime of the CenturyWith the release of 1974’s Crime of the Century, the members of Supertramp finally got the big break for which they’d been waiting. Songwriter-vocalists Roger Hodgson and Rick Davies were the only two members remaining from the group’s 1970 debut, but with Bob Benberg, John Anthony Helliwell and Dougie Thompson on board, Crime of the Century firmly established the band at the vanguard of both pop and prog-rock. A No. 4 album in the U.K., it also cracked the U.S. Top 40 for the first time in the band’s career. On December 9, the album will receive deluxe 40th anniversary reissues in both the 2-CD and 3-LP formats.

After two unsuccessful albums (each with a distinct line-up) and an unsuccessful tour, Hodgson and Davies recruited new members to craft Supertramp’s third album for A&M Records. After a rehearsal period at a seventeenth-century farm in Somerset, the new band joined with co-producer Ken Scott, former Beatles engineer and then riding high from his work with David Bowie. Reportedly, Supertramp demoed over 40 tracks, whittling them down to eight songs for the final album. Two of them would become among the band’s most enduring classics – Hodgson’s “Dreamer” and Davies’ “Bloody Well Right.” With “School,” “Rudy” and the title song, Supertramp also contributed to the burgeoning AOR (Album Oriented Rock) genre.

The 40th Anniversary edition from A&M and Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) contains the original 8-song album, newly remastered by Ray Staff at AIR Studios on the first disc, while the second features Supertramp’s 1975 Hammersmith Odeon concert, mixed from the master tapes by original on-the-night engineer Ken Scott. At this key performance, the band performed the entirety of Crime of the Century and also offered a preview of tracks from its then-as-yet-unreleased follow-up, Crisis? What Crisis? (1975).

What else can you expect of the upcoming reissue? Hit the jump to find out!

The 2-CD package comes with a 24-page booklet of photographs, plus a new essay written by MOJO Editor-in-Chief Phil Alexander. The notes are drawn from new interviews with Dougie Thomson, John Helliwell, Ken Scott, Bob Siebenberg, Roger Hodgson, and Dave Margereson, Supertramp’s manager from 1973 to 1983.

The heavyweight 3-LP vinyl, housed in a box set format, has been cut by Ray Staff at AIR Studios. The vinyl edition contains all the same material as the two CDs, spread across three 180-gram LPs. The eight-page album-sized booklet boasts a longer version of Alexander’s essay, and two 10×8 prints. Lastly, Crime of the Century: 40th Anniversary Edition will be available digitally.

You can look for Supertramp’s deluxe, expanded Crime of the Century on December 9, and it can be pre-ordered at the links below!

Supertramp, Crime of the Century: 40th Anniversary Edition (A&M SP-3647 (U.S.) – reissued A&M/UMe, 2014)

2-CD: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

3-LP: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

CD 1: The Original Album

  1. School
  2. Bloody Well Right
  3. Hide in Your Shell
  4. Asylum
  5. Dreamer
  6. Rudy
  7. If Everyone Was Listening
  8. Crime of the Century

CD 2: Live at Hammersmith ‘75

  1. School
  2. Bloody Well Right
  3. Hide in Your Shell
  4. Asylum
  5. Sister Moonshine
  6. Just a Normal Day
  7. Another Man’s Woman
  8. Lady
  9. A – You’re Adorable
  10. Dreamer
  11. Rudy
  12. If Everyone Was Listening
  13. Crime of the Century

Written by Joe Marchese

November 10, 2014 at 11:01

Posted in News, Reissues, Supertramp, Vinyl

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Blu-Ray also available, though not many details.


    November 10, 2014 at 21:23

  2. Where are the 40 plus demos?


    November 10, 2014 at 22:48

  3. It should be added that the vinyl box comes with a download card


    November 11, 2014 at 05:36

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: