The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Driving Through Kashmir: Led Zeppelin’s “Physical Graffiti” Turns 40, Arrives In Deluxe Formats Next Month

with 4 comments

Physical Graffiti Super Deluxe

The series of expanded and remastered reissues from Led Zeppelin is getting into the home stretch.  Following the 2014 deluxe releases of the band’s first five albums, 1975’s Physical Graffiti – the band’s sixth of nine studio albums – will arrive in a variety of formats on February 24, 2015 – exactly forty years after the original album was first unveiled.

The hotly-anticipated Physical Graffiti was released almost two years after Led Zeppelin’s last album, Houses of the Holy, and was also the band’s most sprawling effort to date.  The double-disc set, showing off every side of the band’s increasingly varied repertoire, featured material that dated as far back as 1970’s Led Zeppelin III.  Also notable as the first release on Zeppelin’s own Swan Song label, the Grammy-winning Graffiti topped both the U.K. and U.S. album charts, and introduced such favorites as the lengthy, hypnotic orchestral track “Kashmir,” the acoustic guitar instrumental “Bron-Yr-Aur,” the Robert Johnson-inspired funky blues “Trampled Under Foot” and the epic “In My Time of Dying.”  The Rolling Stones’ road manager and pianist Ian Stewart even dropped by for the jam session “Boogie with Stu.”

Physical Graffiti will be available in the following formats:

  • Double CD – Remastered album packaged in a replica of the original LP jacket.
  • Deluxe Edition (3CD) – Remastered album on two discs, plus a third disc of unreleased companion audio.
  • Double LP – Remastered album on 180-gram vinyl, packaged in a sleeve that replicates the LP’s first pressing in exacting detail.
  • Deluxe Edition Vinyl (3LP) – Remastered album and unreleased companion audio on 180-gram vinyl.
  • Digital Download – Remastered album and companion audio will both be available in standard and high-definition formats.
  • Super Deluxe Boxed Set – This collection includes:

o Remastered double album on CD in vinyl replica sleeve.

o Companion audio on CD in card wallet featuring new alternate cover art.

o Remastered double album on 180-gram vinyl in a sleeve replicating first pressing.

o Companion audio on 180-gram vinyl in a sleeve with new alternate cover art.

o High-definition audio download card of all content at 96kHz/24 bit.

o Hardbound, 96 page book filled with rare and previously unseen photos and memorabilia

o High-quality print of the original album cover, the first 30,000 of which will be individually numbered.

After the jump: more details, including what you will find on the bonus disc, plus pre-order links!

Physical Graffiti DeluxeAs with the previous editions in this campaign, Physical Graffiti has been newly remastered by guitarist-producer Page and is accompanied by a disc of previously unreleased bonus tracks.  Seven tracks have been added to the album including rough mixes of “In My Time of Dying” and “Houses of the Holy,” plus an early mix of “Trampled Under Foot” called “Brandy and Coke.”   “Boogie with Stu” is heard in an alternate mix made at Sunset Sound, and “Driving Through Kashmir” is an rough orchestra mix of the famous track.  “In the Light” is heard in embryonic form as “Everybody Makes It Through.”

All of the various editions of Physical Graffiti arrive on February 24 from Swan Song/Atlantic.  You can pre-order below!

Led Zeppelin, Physical Graffiti (Swan Song SS 2-200 (U.S.), 1975 – reissued Atlantic/Swan Song, 2015)

2-CD Original Album: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

3-CD Deluxe Edition: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

2-LP Original Album: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

3-LP Deluxe Edition: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

Super Deluxe Edition: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

Digital Download: Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

CD 1

  1. Custard Pie
  2. The Rover
  3. In My Time of Dying
  4. Houses of the Holy
  5. Trampled Under Foot
  6. Kashmir

CD 2

  1. In the Light
  2. Bron-Yr-Aur
  3. Down by the Seaside
  4. Ten Years Gone
  5. Night Flight
  6. The Wanton Song
  7. Boogie with Stu
  8. Black Country Woman
  9. Sick Again

Companion Audio CD:

  1. Brandy & Coke (Trampled Under Foot – Initial Rough Mix)
  2. Sick Again (Early Version)
  3. In My Time Of Dying (Initial Rough Mix)
  4. Houses Of The Holy (Rough Mix With Overdubs)
  5. Everybody Makes It Through”(In The Light – Early Version/In Transit)
  6. Boogie with Stu (Sunset Sound Mix)
  7. Driving Through Kashmir (Rough Orchestra Mix)

Written by Joe Marchese

January 8, 2015 at 12:07

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I guess I was being unreasonable in hoping for a whole disc of Ten Years Gone sessions. Sigh.

    Jeremy Shatan

    January 8, 2015 at 14:50

  2. For a double album kinda thin on the bonus tracks – seven is all Mr. Page could come up with?! May have to pass on this one unless these tracks are really great.


    January 8, 2015 at 14:57

    • Remember, Physical Graffiti itself was partially made up of leftovers and outtakes itself, so we shouldn’t expect there to have been as many unreleased tracks despite it being a double album.

      Shadows Taller Than Our Souls

      January 12, 2015 at 16:57

  3. Maybe Jimmy Page is saving the Holy Grail of unreleased tracks and alternate versions for the Coda remaster? I am still amazed that he didn’t rightfully put Hey Hey What Can I Do? on the deluxe Led Zeppelin III release, but it shows up on the original Complete studio recordings boxset as well as the Japanese SHM release of Coda.


    January 8, 2015 at 16:31

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: