The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Archive for the ‘Eddie Money’ Category

Release Round-Up: Week of January 15

leave a comment »

Lost SirensNew Order, The Lost Sirens (Rhino) (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.)

A cadre of outtakes from the Waiting for the Siren’s Call sessions, this marks the last New Order material with original bassist Peter Hook.

Johnny Mathis - A Special Part of MeJohnny Mathis, A Special Part of Me: Expanded Edition (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.) (Funkytowngrooves)

FTG’s latest R&B expansion has a Michael Jackson connection: the future King of Pop co-wrote for Mathis “Love Never Felt So Good” with Paul Anka!

Talk Talk Natural OrderTalk Talk, Natural History: The Very Best of Talk Talk 1982-1988 (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.) / Natural Order 1982-1991 (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.) (Virgin/EMI)

Not only a CD/DVD reissue of Talk Talk’s first compilation, but a new set, assembled by frontman Mark Hollis, featuring lesser-known and rare tracks from the band.

Eddie MoneyEddie Money, Eddie Money (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.) / Life for the Taking (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.) / Playing for Keeps (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.) / No Control (Amazon U.S./Amazon U.K.) (Rock Candy)

Available in the U.K. now and Stateside next week: the Money Man’s first four Columbia albums, newly remastered and repackaged by Rock Candy.

Marcos Valle - Marcos Valle

Marcos Valle, Marcos Valle (Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.) /Garra (Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.)

This pair of 1970 and 1971 albums found the Brazilian bossa nova legend exploring new sonic terrain.  Light in the Attic tells the whole story with these remastered deluxe reissues!

J5 DVDThe Jackson 5, The Jackson 5ive: The Complete Series (Classic Media) (Amazon U.S.: DVD, Blu-Ray)

The entirety of the (probably ridiculous) Rankin-Bass J5 cartoon comes to DVD and, for some reason, Blu-ray!

Written by Mike Duquette

January 15, 2013 at 08:00

Four Tickets to Paradise: Rock Candy Remasters Eddie Money’s First Columbia LPs

with 8 comments

Eddie MoneyPack your bags, we’ll leave tonight: U.K. label Rock Candy Records is releasing brand new remasters of four albums by the one and only Eddie Money.

The Brooklyn-born Edward Mahoney was a New York cop in the 1960s, but he ultimately decided to chase a more artistic muse. Working his way through the club circuit in California, he was signed to Columbia Records, where he enjoyed a healthy run of hit singles and albums. His self-titled debut featured the smash hits “Baby Hold On” and “Two Tickets to Paradise,” propelling the disc within the U.S. Top 40 and double-platinum status. The following year’s Life for the Taking featured another Top 40 hit in “Maybe I’m a Fool,” and the album peaked even higher than its predecessor on the charts.

While the early ’80s were a time of personal travails for Money, including struggles with addiction, he still racked up some sizable hits, including “Think I’m in Love,” which topped the Billboard Mainstream Rock charts, and “Shakin'”; both singles were aided by videos on the fledgling MTV network. While Rock Candy’s work stops with 1982’s No Control, which spawned those two early-’80s hits, Money’s greatest successes were still to come – 1986’s Can’t Hold Back procured a Top 5 hit in “Take Me Home Tonight,” and follow-up Nothing to Lose (1988) had the Top 10 single “Walk on Water.”

Rock Candy’s spit and polish on these new reissues include new digital remasters for all titles, as well as expanded artwork and liner notes featuring rare photos and excerpts from new interviews with Money. There are no bonus tracks, however, so Money’s entry in the Playlist series is still your destination to acquire the unique single version of “Two Tickets to Paradise” on CD.

All four titles are released in the U.K. this Monday, January 7, and should hit U.S. shores about two weeks later as import titles. Full track details and Amazon U.S. and U.K. order links lie below.

Eddie Money (originally released as Columbia PC 34909, 1977 – reissued Rock Candy Records 172 (U.K.), 2013)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

  1. Two Tickets to Paradise
  2. You’ve Really Got a Hold on Me
  3. Wanna Be a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star
  4. Save a Little Room in Your Heart for Me
  5. So Good to Be in Love Again
  6. Baby Hold On
  7. Don’t Worry
  8. Jealousys
  9. Got to Get Another Girl
  10. Gamblin’ Man

Life for the Taking (originally released as Columbia PC 35598, 1978 – reissued Rock Candy Records 173 (U.K.), 2013)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

  1. Life for the Taking
  2. Can’t Keep a Good Man Down
  3. Nightmare
  4. Gimme Some Water
  5. Rock & Roll the Place
  6. Maybe I’m a Fool
  7. Love the Way You Love Me
  8. Maureen
  9. Nobody
  10. Call on Me

Playing for Keeps (originally released as Columbia FC 36514, 1980 – reissued Rock Candy Records 174 (U.K.), 2013)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

  1. Trinidad
  2. Running Back
  3. The Wish
  4. Get a Move On
  5. When You Took My Heart
  6. Satin Angel
  7. Let’s Be Lovers Again
  8. Nobody Knows
  9. Million Dollar Girl

No Control (originally released as Columbia FC 37960, 1982 – reissued Rock Candy Records 175 (U.K.), 2013)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

  1. Shakin’
  2. Runnin’ Away
  3. Think I’m in Love
  4. Hard Life
  5. No Control
  6. Take a Little Bit
  7. Keep My Motor Runnin’
  8. My Friends, My Friends
  9. Drivin’ Me Crazy
  10. Passing by the Graveyard (Song for John B.)
  11. It Could Happen to You

Written by Mike Duquette

January 3, 2013 at 09:36

Posted in Eddie Money, News, Reissues