The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Archive for the ‘Pete Yorn’ Category

Release Round-Up: Week of March 29

with 15 comments

Derek and The Dominos, Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs: 40th Anniversary Edition (Polydor/UMe)

Unbeknownst to us at Second Disc HQ, a lot of weird stuff has been going on with this deluxe edition. It seems that, for whatever reason, the 2-CD edition of this set is retailing only at Best Buy until April 26, at which point it’ll be released more widely. No extra material seems to be present, just a lengthy lead time in terms of exclusivity. Weird, man. And of course there’s that super-deluxe box set, too. (Amazon: Deluxe Edition, Box Set)

Pearl Jam, Vs. / Vitalogy: Expanded Editions (Epic/Legacy)

The Seattle rock legends expand their second and third albums with bonus tracks. A box set collects those three albums with an (almost-complete), widely-sought after live show. A bigger box adds an insane amount of stuff on vinyl, cassette (cassette? cassette!) and more. (Official site)

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Let Love In Murder Ballads The Boatman’s Call No More Shall We Part: Deluxe Editions (Mute)

Another batch of CD/DVD editions from the British singer/songwriter. B-sides, videos and surround mixes abound. (Official site)

The Contours, Dance with The Contours (Ace/Kent)

Do you love it? An unreleased album by one of Motown’s earliest chartbusters! (Ace)

Pete Yorn, Musicforthemorningafter: 10th Anniversary Edition (Columbia/Legacy)

A two-disc deluxe edition of Yorn’s seminal debut, featuring unreleased studio and live material. (Amazon)

Billy Squier, Essential Billy Squier (EMI/Capitol)

A new hits disc from Mr. Stroke himself. (Amazon)

Teddy Pendergrass, Live in ’82 (Shout! Factory)

It’s a love T.K.O.! The late, great soul singer is immortalized in concert on DVD – one of his last before an injury altered his career. (Shout! Factory)

Florence + The Machine, Between Two Lungs (Universal Republic)

An expanded import of the band’s impressive debut Lungs comes to American shores. (Official site)

Various Artists, Mad Men: A Musical Companion (1960-1965) (Hip-O/UMe)

Though the critically-acclaimed show has an uncertain future, fans can use this compilation, featuring classics of the period, to pass the time. (Amazon)

Various Artists, The Music Never Stopped: Music from the Motion Picture (Rhino)

Rhino temporarily comes out of hiding for this film soundtrack, featuring several unreleased Grateful Dead live tracks. (Amazon)

A Reissue for the Morning After

leave a comment »

Legacy has just announced a deluxe edition for one of Columbia’s more recent classics: the debut LP by Pete Yorn.

The New Jersey-born singer-songwriter rose to prominence with 2001’s musicforthemorningafter at the age of 26, after being signed to Columbia for two years and co-writing the score to the film Me, Myself & Irene (2000). Tunes like “Life on a Chain,” “For Nancy (‘Cos It Already Is)” and “Strange Condition” were modest hits on Billboard‘s Adult Top 40 and Modern Rock charts, and the album received widespread critical acclaim.

For this 10th anniversary expanded edition, Legacy has added a bonus disc comprised mostly of Yorn’s 2001 performance on KCRW-FM’s “Morning Becomes Eclectic” (featuring an interview, acoustic run-throughs of key tracks and a cover of The Smiths’ “Panic”) and featuring some rare and unreleased outtakes from the original album. The set will be available on March 22; read about it here and order it here.

The full track list is after the jump.

Pete Yorn, musicforthemorningafter: 10th Anniversary Edition (Columbia/Legacy, 2011)

Disc 1: Original LP (orginally released as Columbia CK 62216, 2001)

  1. Life on a Chain
  2. Strange Condition
  3. Just Another
  4. Black
  5. Lose You
  6. For Nancy (‘Cos It Already Is)
  7. Murray
  8. June
  9. Sense
  10. Closet
  11. On Your Side
  12. Sleep Better
  13. EZ
  14. Simonize
  15. A Girl Like You

Disc 1, Track 15 was included on the original album but unindexed and unlisted.

Disc 2: Live show and bonus material

  1. Intro
  2. Life on a Chain
  3. Strange Condition
  4. Sense
  5. For Nancy (‘Cos It Already Is)
  6. Interview Segment
  7. Panic
  8. On Your Side
  9. Just Another
  10. Murray
  11. Outro
  12. Closet (Demo)
  13. The Barber
  14. Knew Enough to Know Nothing at All
  15. Life on a Chain (Hooky’s Mix)

Disc 2, Tracks 1-11 recorded live on KCRW-FM’s “Morning Becomes Eclectic,” Los Angeles – 3/27/2001
All tracks on Disc 2 previously unreleased except Track 14, which was a bonus track on original vinyl edition (Columbia C2 62216, 2001).

Written by Mike Duquette

January 6, 2011 at 13:05

Posted in News, Pete Yorn, Reissues