The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Super Duper Hits: EMI to Release Joss Stone Compilation

with 3 comments

It’s been a long time coming, but Joss Stone’s first compilation, The Best of 2003-2009, is finally ready for release next week after a six-month wait.

For a time in the early 2000s, it was hard to lose sight of Joss Stone. The British crooner was only a teenager when her debut, 2003’s The Soul Sessions, became a Top 5 smash in her native country. With a voice that recalled Aretha Franklin and Janis Joplin, Stone first rose to prominence with a few inspired soul-influenced covers (her reworking of The White Stripes’ “Fell in Love with a Girl,” Sugar Billy’s “Super Duper Love”) and kept working her way up, cutting albums with retro-soul savvy producers like ?uestlove of The Roots, Betty Wright, Salaam Remi and Raphael Saadiq. Stone became the youngest female artist to top the U.K. charts and took home multiple Grammy nominations, including Best New Artist, for her work.

While Stone has moved on after an acrimonious split with Virgin/EMI in 2009, she’s still going strong, self-releasing a record earlier this year with producer Dave Stewart and joining Stewart, Damien Marley, A.R. Rahman and Mick Jagger on the SuperHeavy project. Her greatest hits are yours to revisit on October 4.

Joss Stone, The Best of 2003-2009 (Virgin 50999 071046 2 6, 2011)

  1. Fell in Love with a Boy
  2. Super Duper Love
  3. You Had Me
  4. Right to Be Wrong
  5. Don’t Cha Wanna Ride
  6. Spoiled
  7. Tell Me ’bout It
  8. Baby Baby Baby
  9. Tell Me What We’re Gonna Do Now (feat. Common)
  10. Bruised But Not Broken
  11. L-O-V-E
  12. Free Me
  13. Stalemate (with Jamie Hartman)

Tracks 1-2 from The Soul Sessions (Relentless (U.K.)/Virgin (U.S.), 2003)
Tracks 3-6 from Mind Body & Soul (Relentless (U.K.)/Virgin (U.S.), 2004)
Tracks 7-10 from Introducing Joss Stone (Relentless (U.K.)/Virgin (U.S.), 2007)
Track 11 from Introducing Joss Stone: Special Edition (Relentless (U.K.)/Virgin (U.S.), 2007)
Tracks 12-13 from Colour Me Free! (Virgin, 2009)

Written by Mike Duquette

September 28, 2011 at 11:13

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s precisely what the world needs now. A Joss Stone anthology.


    September 28, 2011 at 11:24

  2. Nice cover though.


    September 28, 2011 at 11:28

  3. Totally, utterly devoid of soul.


    September 28, 2011 at 16:41

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: