The Second Disc

Expanded and Remastered Music News

Madness to Reissue “Take It or Leave It” on DVD

leave a comment »

Madness Take It or Leave ItMadness may be all in the mind, but in October it’ll be on your TV screens thanks to a new reissue of the band’s film, Take It or Leave It, coming from Salvo Music in October.

Directed by Stiff Records founder Dave Robinson and released in 1981, Take It or Leave It is a docudrama about the beloved British ska group, combining staged vignettes with live footage and other fun stuff. Released in conjunction with the band’s third album, 7, the film features various studio and live versions of songs from the band’s discography up to that point, including “One Step Beyond,” “Baggy Trousers” and many more. (One song, “Sunshine Voice,” remains unreleased on any album.)

Salvo’s new reissue of Take It or Leave It features, for the first time, a soundtrack CD. Alas, “Sunshine Voice” isn’t included, in favor of a simple compilation of released songs from the film (including two non-Madness tracks). The new DVD does, however, retain a 2002 commentary on the film recorded by Robinson with Madness guitarist Chris Foreman. (A bit of bad news for collectors outside of the U.K., though: Amazon lists the DVD as PAL formatted only.)

In any case, it’s due out on October 7; pre-order links and a track list for the soundtrack are after the jump.

Take It or Leave It (Salvo SALVOSVX010 (U.K.), 2013)

Amazon U.S. / Amazon U.K.

Disc 1: DVD feature film

  • Commentary with Chris Robinson and Chrissy Boy Foreman
  • Theatrical trailer

Disc 2: soundtrack CD

  1. Don’t Quote Me on That
  2. The Business
  3. I’m Walkin’ – Fats Domino
  4. On the Beat Pete
  5. Don’t Look Back
  6. Reach Out I’ll Be There – The Four Tops
  7. Embarrassment
  8. Mistakes
  9. That’s The Way to Do It
  10. Rockin in A♭
  11. Day on the Town
  12. Swan Lake
  13. In the Middle of the Night
  14. Razor Blade Alley
  15. Madness
  16. Steppin’ Into Line
  17. Night Boat to Cairo
  18. Sign of the Times
  19. Solid Gone
  20. One Step Beyond
  21. Bed & Breakfast Man
  22. The Prince
  23. Baggy Trousers
  24. Grey Day
  25. My Girl
  26. Take It or Leave It

Track 1 from Work, Rest and Play EP (Stiff, 1980)
Track 2 was the B-side to “Baggy Trousers” (Stiff, 1980)
Tracks 4, 7, 19, 23 and 26 from Absolutely (Stiff, 1980)
Track 5 was the B-side to “House of Fun” (Stiff, 1982)
Track 8 was the B-side to “One Step Beyond” (Stiff, 1979)
Track 9 was the B-side to “The Return of the Los Palmas 7” (Stiff, 1981)
Tracks 10, 12-15, 17, 20-22 and 25 from One Step Beyond… (Stiff, 1979)
Tracks 11, 18 and 24 from (Stiff, 1981)
Track 16 was the B-side to “My Girl” (Stiff, 1979)

Written by Mike Duquette

August 28, 2013 at 16:14

Posted in DVD, Madness, News, Reissues

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: